• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Replacing capacitors

Status
Not open for further replies.

CyberWarrior

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
140
Location
Ft Lauderdale FL
I saw a video on tuning up a 980SSB,in it the narrator says that the 2 capacitors with the value 1500uf 25 volts,should be upgraded to 3300uf 25 volts.

Does anyone know,what this is for ??
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,490
Location
Bowie, Md.
Without knowing what stage(s) these caps reside in (RF, PA, power supply, etc.) it's nearly impossible to guess. It's also important to know what KIND of capacitors these are. No way to guess without more information

Mike
 

CyberWarrior

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
140
Location
Ft Lauderdale FL
Without knowing what stage(s) these caps reside in (RF, PA, power supply, etc.) it's nearly impossible to guess. It's also important to know what KIND of capacitors these are. No way to guess without more information

Mike
They are in the proximity of the DC input area.

How can I post a pic of the radio??
 

DJ11DLN

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
2,137
Location
Mudhole, IN
Scroll down below the reply text box and click on the "manage attachments" button. Presuming you have the pic on your computer, just click "browse" and find it, double-click on it, then click "upload." Pretty simple, even an old fart like me can figure it out!:)
 

Attachments

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,902
Location
So Cali
From the values, and location, I would say Electrolytic capacitors and for filtering the incoming 12 volts DC.
 

kesselk

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
19
I saw a video on tuning up a 980SSB,in it the narrator says that the 2 capacitors with the value 1500uf 25 volts,should be upgraded to 3300uf 25 volts.

Does anyone know,what this is for ??
looks like it filters out AC noise on the DC power supply...I assume the 3300uf caps do a better job???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top