• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Retevis RT-82 - initial impressions

Status
Not open for further replies.

11fairr

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
4
Hello I was wondering if you have tried the scanning feature on this radio, I bought a MD 2017 and it with only 10 channels in the scan list it scans really slow, we are talking it missed the first 8 to 10 seconds of every transmission, sometimes I would miss the entire call. There are alot of repeaters in my area so I need a radio that scans quick that is dmr and dual band, can tell me how quick the scan is? How long the delay is before it stops on transmission? And how Manny channels can be in a scan list? Thank you in advance
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,015
Location
VA
Retevis is a clone/rebadge of TYT, and has the same internals and firmware and programming software. You aren't going to get any significant performance difference between them.
 

paulears

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2015
Messages
411
Location
Lowestoft - UK
Sadly, mine does seem rather slow in the scan department - but so many radios now have slow scan speeds, I don't think it's that unusual.
 

11fairr

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
4
My MD 380 and 390, and my radioddity dual band Dmr radio scan very quickly. It's just the radioddity only can have 16 channel scan list. So I can't scan all the channels, specially when alot are Dmr and you need 2 channels per repeater one for each slot, anyone know of any dual band Dmr radios that scan quickly?
 

paulears

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2015
Messages
411
Location
Lowestoft - UK
Confused now - the speed at which they scan is quick? Is it? I thought it quite slow. There are only two dual band DMR radios at the moment and they're based on the same design.

The scan list is like this, scanning wise because in business radio, they don't have the huge numbers of talkgroups hams have, so they rarely fill the radios up. I doubt this quite radical change to the basic design can be implemented. They are what they are?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top