• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

RFSS/Site issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skyhawk9

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
15
Location
Medina, Oh
Hoping someone can help me figure this out.. I have the Unification G5 (using it as a scanner) and it has been working great for the most part (listening to P25 ohio MARCS in the cleveland area), but recently I've been having some RFSS/Site problems. I live in Medina County Ohio and normally the RFSS/Site has been 2/1.. With this I was able to capture pretty much all my frequencies with an all scan option I have set up in my zone 1 channel 1 position. NOW for some reason the RFSS/Site is 2/2..and I only get half the traffic I used to. Does anyone know how to fix this issue? thank you all in advance. Im still a bit new to the G5 so sorry if this post maybe a bit confusing.
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,045
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
Sounds like you have multiple sites programmed for the system. You may want to create separate systems, each including a single site (the one(s) that carry your talkgroups of interest). Looks like site 2/54 (decimal) is the one for Medina Co?
 

Skyhawk9

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
15
Location
Medina, Oh
Sounds like you have multiple sites programmed for the system. You may want to create separate systems, each including a single site (the one(s) that carry your talkgroups of interest). Looks like site 2/54 (decimal) is the one for Medina Co?

Sounds good I will try this..yes Medina Co is 2/54. Thank you N6ML. I do move around a bit between counties here but my home county is Medina. I bounce between Cuyahoga/Medina/Geauga counties. So setup for each of these correct? Thanks again
 
Last edited by a moderator:

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,045
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
Yeah, if you want to be in full control, program each in a separate system, and then you'll need a separate set of knob positions using each.
 

LEH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
1,453
Location
Yorktown, Virginia
This is one of the benefits and problems with the Unication receivers. They are almost too good.

Multi-site systems like MARC can be a nightmare if the pager locks onto an unwanted tower. I live about 30 minutes from North Carolina and their VIPER system presents similar challenges when I go through.

The suggestion to set up a knob position for each site would work, but then you would need to know when and where you need to change to a different site. Having all nearby sites in one knob position simplifies the monitoring, but with the Unication staying locked onto a signal even if there is a stronger one, can be (as we see here) a problem.

As N6ML pointed out, your best site would be the Medina County (2/54) site, but depending on where you are (if you are in Medina County and where as well) other sites you could also pick up might be 2/27 (Lorain), 2/61 or 2/55 (Wayne), or 2.2 (Summit but only east side of Medina). That is just from looking at rough coverage maps on RR.

If I still lived in Ohio, my Unication would be dedicated to as local the systems as I could get even it meant merging the two or three closest tower control channels. Any travel I would turn to my 436 and hope for the best.

You have a tough decision to make on how to program.
 

Skyhawk9

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
15
Location
Medina, Oh
All great information..I really appreciate the feed-back. I will have to do some re programming..A definite trial and error. A great little pager/scanner. Wish there was an the option to lock in and stay on a single tower in an all scan function. Thanks again guys
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top