Rich's radio room for 2023

N9JIG

Sheriff
OK, Scott redid his radio room, so I have to update mine. I obtained a Behringer 1602 mixer to replace the much larger X2222 (Thanks Jim!) and moved things around a bit to accommodate it in the rack.

I could have gone two ways with this: One was to keep the 3u cabinet I have been using since October (see The (almost) all new for 2022 N9JIG Shack) and make room for the new mixer or revert to my older 4u slant cabinet (the same cabinet as Scott's, please see his shack at Scott's Radio Room for 2023 and mine at November 2021 N9JIG Shack).

There are advantages either way. With the smaller 3u cabinet the monitors and radios atop it are lower to the desktop for easier viewing and access. This would mean however that I would have to find a place for the mixer. I could remove one of the almost brand new (2 weeks old) 3u panels and replace it with a 2u and put the mixer in with that or I would have to add a new place for the mixer.

The larger would allow me to use the almost brand new (2 weeks old...) 3u panels I just bought and just add the mixer. I would then fill the excess space in the other bays with either blank panels or a shelf I could use for the Windows and pi computers or a power strip. Hedging my bets I ordered the blank panel and a shelf so I could use the 4u cabinet. The monitor height would not be a huge issue as I could either move the monitors a bit to the right and off the cabinet or just deal with the added height for the pi and Windows monitors.

On the other hand I still had a 2u panel for the 25A power supply and a radio slot. I also have a nice power supply/desk cabinet for the Kenwood GMRS rig so I could put that on top. Either way I could remove the altered keyboard tray I have been using for the larger mixer. It worked well but I just did not like it.