Roanoke Rapids, no longer DMR?

Status
Not open for further replies.

n4jri

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
1,295
Location
Richmond, VA
Passed through Roanoke Rapids this evening and found nothing on 155.535, which had been buzzing on DMR less than a year ago. Found police dispatch in the clear on 155.8575 [d445], which had been listed as a public works type freq. Will hope to check it again during the NC QSO Party in February.

73/Allen (N4JRI)
 

reconrider8

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
2,502
Location
Eastern, NC
Yip as far as I know but not official they dropped the dmr plan and are in the process of putting new repeaters in for analog. They are on public works for now while they work the bugs out of their new system I'm guessing. Again this is my guess. They actually switched over to 155.5350 but then they switched back to 8575 so who knows
 

NC1

Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
522
Location
Surry County, North Carolina
Going back to analog?

Probably because all this new technology like DMR works so well (insert sarcasm here).

I know, all the manufacturers and sales people need to constantly reinvent the wheel to keep their jobs, and it's all at the expense of the taxpayer.
 

reconrider8

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
2,502
Location
Eastern, NC
Yip pretty well sums it up lol. Don't hold me to that though but the last time I heard them on 535 they were analog. So go figure. I know they were having horrible reception issues but why go back who knows
 

GamecockSJ

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
129
Location
Greenville, NC
Situations like this I don't understand why the department doesn't just move to VIPER. It works well. Little upkeep necessary for the municipality.
 

reconrider8

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
2,502
Location
Eastern, NC
1 word MONEY. The county commissioners don't want to spend the money to go over to viper. The towers are pretty much in place and they would have great coverage but they want drop the ball on the radios. I really wish they would also but it want happen for a while I'm afraid.
 

28056

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
80
Location
Mesquite TX
Situations like this I don't understand why the department doesn't just move to VIPER. It works well. Little upkeep necessary for the municipality.
Price a P25 phase II radio.

Price a DMR radio.

Price an analog radio.




If you are a small town and need 20 radios, it might be easier to jump to a system you can use for free. If you have to have a lot of radios, it might make more economic sense to build your own system if you can't suck the .fed teat to pay for most of the P25 gear.
 

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,795
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
Since when has Viper REQUIRED purchase of a Phase II radio, they are just barely done with the band change. Never mind the Phase II upgrade which will be a huge project, and all of my towns radio's purchased in the last 2 years have been Phase I.

Motorola hasn't made an analog only radio in 2 years with the demise of the CDM and HT series. The cheapest Analog Mototrbo radio is the SLR series with analog and no DMR entitlement.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top