Rochester PD/FIRE/EMS, Capable Scanners and Settings?

homerpez

I apologize in advance, I am a complete novice when it comes to HAM radio. I recently purchased a WOXUN KG-UV9PX for extreme emergencies, and was trying to find things to listen to in the mean time. As I'm learning more about the radio, it appears I can't really use it as a handheld police/fire scanner like I wanted.

Specifically, I found that Rochester Police East and West seem to be digital, encrypted, or both - and apparently my radio is "analog only". I've scanned for CTCSS and DCS codes to no avail.

I've been looking at dedicated digital scanners, but as this is more of a hobby I want to make sure I'm not wasting my money. Is there a commercially-available scanner that can access Rochester PD/FD? If so, what features does the scanner need to hear the audio?

Thanks in advance for any response!

k2hz

Database Admin
The present RPD UHF system is P25 digital but it is being phased out as they move to the 700/800 P25 simulcast trunked system. So there is no point in upgrading to a digital scanner to monitor RPD. To adequately receive the P25 Simulcast the options are the Uniden SDS100/200 or Unication Scanners. Other scanners claiming P25 trunking capability have major issues with simulcast reception and may be unsatisfactory depending on your location.

The issue of P25 simulcast reception has been discussed extensively on here so I suggest you do some research on here of the issues and the pros and cons of the SDS vs Unication scanners. I think the topic has been beaten to death on here and I don't want to restart it.

The other option is reception with a computer program and SDR dongle. This has also been extensively discussed on here and is an inexpensive other alternative vs a $600 and up scanner if you are into computer hardware and software.

homerpez

Thanks for the input.