Rode The Bicycle To Work Every Day This Week.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am proud to announce that I've now gone 6 straight days without directly consuming a single drop of gasoline. I started riding to work 4-5 days a week about a month ago and I can already notice the savings. Gas just isn't worth it anymore.

Hopefully more people will break out their bicycles and join me.

brian13pickle

That's "great" you don't only save on gas, you also save on health care, by losing weight and gaining good overall health. Go for it! Just be careful and I hope you're wearing a good helmet. I just started wearing one after approximately 39 yrs. off & on riding. BTW how far is your commute?

iMONITOR

Premium Subscriber
It's way too dangerous to ride around where I live. You'd get run over by a car in the first week! It's illegal to ride on the sidewalks. There are a few bike trails, but nothing close, and none would be practical to get where you'd most likely want to go.

The Gas Companies Can Go Suck It.

GreatLakes said:
It's way too dangerous to ride around where I live. You'd get run over by a car in the first week! It's illegal to ride on the sidewalks. There are a few bike trails, but nothing close, and none would be practical to get where you'd most likely want to go.
That's because gas was less than $1.00 a gallon for the longest time. My hope is that in the coming years more bike-friendly infrastructure will be built around U.S. cities. I've actually gotten to a point where I'm so used to biking it (and I'm talkin' biCYCLE, not motorcycle) that it feels routine and driving feels weird or different.

For me, I intend it to be a shift from the car being the main method of transportation to the bike being the main method. Driving will become a once-in-a-while thing, maybe for special occasions, emergencies, carrying stuff, and so on. The commute to work is only 4 miles one-way.

car2back