BCD396XT: Rolling back firmware

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eugene

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
534
Location
Portsmouth, VA
Greetings. I have 1 396XT which previously had Firmware 1.08.14 and I updated to 1.11.01. Now it will not track VA State STARS system worth a damn. It takes longer to capture a control channel, will bounce around from "NFM" to a totally different CC, Back to NFM then back to the original CC. While on a control channel, I have a PRO 197 programmed to the same system. The PRO 197 has the telescoping whip set at 15" and the 396XT has a tuned 2M ham duck, so they are on a similar footing antenna wise. The PRO 197 will be having traffic while the Uniden, in the same part of the house, will show a control channel but no traffic. I am now missing > 2/3 of the radio traffic which was not the case before the update. Since it worked fine before the update and now won't, I have to assume it was something with the update. How can I roll it back to 1.08.14 as it is pretty much worthless now for the STARS. Thanks in advance.

Eugene KG4AVE
 

Eugene

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
534
Location
Portsmouth, VA
rolling back firmware

I should also probably explain the STARS is a VHF multisite trunked system for the state of VA. Tracking it can be problematic but not like this.

Eugene KG4AVE
 

Eugene

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
534
Location
Portsmouth, VA
Thanks for the reply......actually have tried that. Have used a tuned 2 meter ham, a RS 800 antenna which works well with VHF, another RS antenna, long and thick at the top....don't remember which one it is, and a Watson super Gainer. Before the update it was pretty much working well on any antenna I tried. Also, when it does capture and hold a control channel, I get 4-5 bars but it is not decoding the data stream as my other scanner is picking up transmission and the Uniden is not while holding the control channel.

Eugene KG4AVE
 

Badboy536

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
122
I have Noticed that the firmware 1.10.00. Is the best firmware for my area.
Its The best at decoding with The most consistent and with lowerest error rates.
I used the latest firmware for a while it was sometimes Unusable.i put 1.10.00
Back on no problems ever since.and I have 2 396xt both with the same results.
 

Eugene

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
534
Location
Portsmouth, VA
Badboy536- Thanks. Did that and did not seem to make a difference. Need to go back 1 more to 1.08.14 which is the last version which worked. As you don't get that as as a choice with the Uniden updater for the 396XT it may not be possible but I was hoping there was a way to access earlier updates somehow.

Eugene KG4AVE
 

Eugene

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
534
Location
Portsmouth, VA
eorange: Glad to know I'm not the only one. I see UPman stated you could not apply this with the latest BC_VUP updater. I guess now the question is, were you able to get a an earlier version than the v3 BC_VUP3 (BC_VUP_v3_03_00.zip) as this seem to be the only choice given? Thanks for your help.

Eugene KG4AVE
 

Eugene

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
534
Location
Portsmouth, VA
Firmware rollbak

eorange: I thought I sent a reply earlier but apparently did not. I did finally get it rolled back.....was a tiresome process, partly due to computer issues on my end ("dude...I got a Dell). Anyway thanks for your help.

Eugene KG4AVE
 

eorange

Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
2,628
Location
Cleveland, OH
Glad to hear. When I got my 396XT, I upgraded to v11, but it was so bad that I immediately rolled it back to v10.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top