RS firmware update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Astrak

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
1,607
Location
Mesa, AZ
So, is anyone else still patiently waiting for the 1.8 firmware update for the RS 106/197? I had sent an email when the GRE firmware was released, expecting a reply, but not a firmware update for quite a while and have yet to receive a reply from RS. It sure would be nice to have the patch tracking ability.
 

jblake76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
310
Location
So.Jersey
The reply I was given was that they are aware of the GRE update but have no time for the RS release. Nice huh considering that we paid 500.00 plus for these scanners.
 
Last edited:

jak122

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
30
Location
Juneau, AK
So does that mean the updates offered by GRE for the 500/600 are not readily available for download to the Radio Shack 106/197?
I don't understand how this works, but is it not possible to go right to the GRE site and download to your RS equivalent?

I'm certainly missing something here and I'd like to know what because I have two RS branded GRE scanners that are going to be obsolete if Rat Shack keeps it up.

sorry to rant, tell me I'm wrong
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
So does that mean the updates offered by GRE for the 500/600 are not readily available for download to the Radio Shack 106/197?
I don't understand how this works, but is it not possible to go right to the GRE site and download to your RS equivalent?

I'm certainly missing something here and I'd like to know what because I have two RS branded GRE scanners that are going to be obsolete if Rat Shack keeps it up.

sorry to rant, tell me I'm wrong

GRE makes the updates and gives them to RS. However the GRE updates are not compatible with the RS scanners. The email i receved from RS says they are currently "testing" the update. I guess it just takes a couple months to "test" a few upgrades:roll:
 

Astrak

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2005
Messages
1,607
Location
Mesa, AZ
GRE makes the updates and gives them to RS. However the GRE updates are not compatible with the RS scanners. The email i receved from RS says they are currently "testing" the update. I guess it just takes a couple months to "test" a few upgrades:roll:
I guess "testing" is better than nothing. It'll probably be like last update, and take a few weeks/months for the update to be available on the RS website.
 

ab2ms

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
201
Location
Fulton, NY
<sarcasm>Wouldn't want to trust the manufacturer of the scanner......... why would THEY thoroughly test before releasing it.......</sarcasm>
 

cfr301

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
297
Location
Wapakoneta Ohio
Note To MODS 3 Forums on this can we combine? Make a Sticky? and Maybe send out Twitter alert? This Effects Lots of Users.
 

cfr301

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
297
Location
Wapakoneta Ohio
how do i download the firmware updates to the scanner ?
Download onto your computer. Click on the download Follow the directions in the Download, You must have a USB Cable for your Scanner hooked to your computer and know what com port it is using.
 

sadman3

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 18, 2008
Messages
97
Location
pickaway county ohio
dont know if this is the right place to ask but whats a (DSP Firmware Upgrade 1.4) i upgraded firmware CPU 1.8 that went fine sorry new to upgradeing scanners never had to befor
 

jack103

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Messages
458
Location
Tewksbury MA
So when will we get Encryption MUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,583
Location
Greensboro, NC
So when will we get Encryption MUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hmmmm... mine has always had that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top