RS Pro-163 trunking setup question

Status
Not open for further replies.

avdrummerboy

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
285
Location
High Desert, CA
Hey all, yes I did search and nothing I found seemed to help.

A little background about me and what I am scanning. I am new to the trunking scanner operation, so please bear with me for dumb questions and if there is a post that describes what I'm looking for send it my way and I'll delete this.

Second, I am in San Bernardino county in Southern CA. I bought this RS Pro-163 and the really awesome manual (NOT!!) jumps all over the place in topics, but I finally figured out how in program in the system freq.s for the county and how to store the TID's as well as setting up the bank and all associated channels to the MO setting.

My question (ignorance behold) is: How do I actually set it up to trunk, follow the TID's. I know how to make it scan, but that just blows through all channels and banks, and yes I turned off the banks that I don't need, but it still is just scanning through frequencies, which I can do on my non-trunking radios!!!

My dumb question is how to I get it to follow the TID's and actually trunk, how can I listen in to just one TID, not random channels?

Thanks in advance and thanks you for (hopefully) putting up with my idiocy.
 

vinzep491

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
975
For motorola systems, you only have to program in the control channels for the sites you wish to monitor. you do not have to have every voice channel programmed in.

This sounds like it may be your problem.

Delete all the voice channels, only have the CC programmed in, and make sure the talkgroups you want to monitor are programme in. Make sure everyting is set to MOT
 

avdrummerboy

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
285
Location
High Desert, CA
That may be it, thanks, and thanks for the manual, I was ready to go suicidal putting in so many dang freq.'s. Again, this is my first trunking scanner.

Much apreciated!
 

vinzep491

Member
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
975
No problem, most of us are glad to help here at RR!

Just let me know if you have any more problems or questions, and good luck.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,061
... Second, I am in San Bernardino county in Southern CA. I bought this RS Pro-163 and the really awesome manual (NOT!!) jumps all over the place in topics, but I finally figured out how in program in the system freq.s for the county and how to store the TID's as well as setting up the bank and all associated channels to the MO setting.

My question (ignorance behold) is: How do I actually set it up to trunk, follow the TID's ...
This may help.

TRUNKING PROGRAMMING - PRO-163 & 164

To program a Bank for TRUNKING:
1. Press PROG, then press TRUNK.
2. Press FUNC, then use an UP or DOWN ARROW to select a bank.
3. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola).
4. Press PROG.
5. Enter the first control channel freq. and press ENTER.
6. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola).
7. Press PROG or the UP ARROW to advance to the next channel.
8. Enter the next control channel freq. and press ENTER.
9. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola).
10. After the last control channel freq., press ENTER, then press SCAN.
Now you should start to see all active Talk Group IDs (TGs).

There are two trunking modes, OPEN and CLOSED:
OPEN lets you hear ALL active TGs
CLOSED lets you hear ONLY the TGs you have put into the SUB-BANKS.
“–” appears for CLOSED mode and “+” appears for OPEN mode under the channel number.
To set OPEN or CLOSED mode for a bank:
1. Press MAN.
2. Use the UP or DOWN ARROW to select a bank.
3. Press FUNC then •/DELAY.

PROGRAMMING the Sub-Banks (Saving Talk Group IDs)
Each of the 10 banks contains 5 sub-banks that each hold 30 Talk Group IDs.
To define a Talk Group ID:
1. Press PROG, then press TRUNK to enter the ID program mode.
2. Press FUNC, then use UP or DOWN ARROW to select a bank.
3. Repeatedly press MODE to select a trunking mode (Motorola,
EDACS, or LTR).
4. Repeatedly press TRUNK to select the sub-bank.
5. Press UP or DOWN ARROW to select the location where to store the Talk
Group ID.
6. Use the number keys to enter the Talk Group ID:
7. Press ENT.

Turning Sub-Banks ON or OFF
To turn off a sub-bank:
1. Press TRUNK repeatedly to select the desired sub-bank.
2. Press FUNC then 1 to turn the sub-bank on or off.
To turn off a sub-bank while scanning:
1. When the scanner stops on a transmission, press FUNC.
2. Press TRUNK. The display indicates which sub-bank is turned
on or off. The active sub-bank number appears.
3. Press FUNC and the number of the sub-bank you desire to
turn on or off. For example to turn sub-bank 4 on or off, press
FUNC. Then press 4.
Note: This function activates when the receiving channel
bank is in CLOSED mode.

Text Tags
While scanning, if the scanner stops on a channel with a saved text
tag, the text appears on the display. Otherwise, the Talk Group ID
appears on the display.
You can define text tags to identify channels, Talk Group IDs, banks
or FIPS Codes.
To define a Text Tag:
1. To define a text tag for a channel:
• Press MAN.
• Enter the bank and channel number.
• Press PROG. M changes to P.
• Go to step 5.
2. To define a text tag for a Talk Group ID:
• Press PROG.
• Press TRUNK.
• Press FUNC then UP or DOWN ARROW to select the desired bank.
• Press TRUNK to select the desired sub-bank.
• Press or hold down UP or DOWN ARROW to select the desired group ID.
• Go to step 5.
3. To define a text tag for a bank:
• Press PROG.
• Press FUNC then press bank number. “Bank X (0 through 9)
selected” appears.
• Go to step 5.
4. To define a text tag for a FIPS code, first access the FIPS code
definition. See ”SAME Standby Mode” on Page 31.
5. Press TEXT.
6. Enter the text using the text keys (up to 16 characters).
When you press a key, the associated letters appear on the
screen. Press the corresponding number. For example, when
you press ABC, A, B, and C appear on the display. To select A,
press 1. To select B, press 2. To select C, press 3.
To enter a number, press 1, then press the number key.
To enter lowercase character or second-set character for the 0
key, press the text key and then press FUNC.
7. If you make a mistake, press UP or DOWN ARROW to move to the character
you want to change.
8. Press ENT to save the text.
To display the Talk Group ID:
1. If the scanner displays the text tag for a transmission, press
TEXT. The ID code appears.
2. Press TEXT again to cancel.

Deleting Talk Group IDs
You can delete an individual Talk Group ID or all Talk Group IDs in a
bank.
To delete a Talk Group ID:
1. Press PROG then TRUNK.
2. Press FUNC, UP or DOWN ARROW to select ID memory.
3. Press FUNC then CLEAR.
To delete ALL talk group IDs in a bank:
1. Press PROG.
2. Press TRUNK to enter a Talk Group ID memory mode.
3. Select a Talk Group ID bank using FUNC, UP or DOWN ARROW.
4. Press FUNC then 6. “Clear entire list? Press 1 to
clear all, any other key aborts” appears.
5. To clear the Talk Group IDs, Press 1. To cancel the deletion,
press any key except 1.

Searching for Talk Group IDs
If you tune the scanner to an active Motorola control channel, the
Motorola System ID and the approximate control channel message
decode success rate appears. This helps you identify the system
and the reception quality. When the scanner decodes control
channel data from a Motorola system, COTRL appears on the
display.
To search for Talk Group IDs:
1. Set the bank to OPEN mode.
2. Press SCAN. The scanner scans through all unlocked channels
in the active banks.
3. When the scanner stops on a transmission, press TRUNK. The
scanner displays the ID location:
Sub-bank. ID Location
0-4 00-29
Example: 2-01
Note: If the ID has already been saved, “ID was saved”
appears. If you try to store more than 150 talk group IDs in
a bank, “Memory Full!” appears.
 

Mikeaaron777

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
6
Location
Golden Valley, Mn. 55416
When I worked on radios at the bus company, I needed to have one to monitor the channel I was calling out on. I could hear my transmission to help me determin if the there was noise, or if the mic worked. When the company went to the newer radios, I needed to get a radio to monitor this new set of channels. I asked M.R. for the frequencies we were using and they told me I couldn't have that info. With my scanner I could pick up transmissions on a frequency from our channel as well as other base channels. I scan for the contrl channel so I can listen to our locations channel only.
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,061
When I worked on radios at the bus company, I needed to have one to monitor the channel I was calling out on. I could hear my transmission to help me determin if the there was noise, or if the mic worked. When the company went to the newer radios, I needed to get a radio to monitor this new set of channels. I asked M.R. for the frequencies we were using and they told me I couldn't have that info. With my scanner I could pick up transmissions on a frequency from our channel as well as other base channels. I scan for the contrl channel so I can listen to our locations channel only.
This is the 2nd thread you have hijacked within 20 minutes. It is considered bad form, even rude to tag onto someone else's thread. Your questions have nothing to do with the original poster's thread. Start your own thread.
Also, you need to tell us EXACTLY which system you want to monitor - City/county/state.
 

avdrummerboy

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
285
Location
High Desert, CA
I know this is a bit old, but I had one more question, that may be an impossibility, but I figured I'd ask anyway. Is there any way to isolate one TID from the log of programmed TID's. I know you can pause it on an ID and listen to just that one, but is there some way to set them up like channels of sorts so you don't have to wait for the TID to key up initially??

Thanks again for everyone's help.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,380
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
Pro-164/pro-164 (psr-400/psr-300)

Is there any way to isolate one TID from the log of programmed TID's. I know you can pause it on an ID and listen to just that one, but is there some way to set them up like channels of sorts so you don't have to wait for the TID to key up initially??
The PRO-163 is similar to the PSR-400 and now discontinued. The PSR-410 does a much better job with this aspect of scanning.

If you want to only monitor a single TG, then turn off the other sub groups in that bank and/or lock out all other TGs in the bank and/or only program that one TG into the bank. In other words, if you are in closed mode in that bank, when the scanner decodes the control channel, it will navigate to the TG voice channel of any TG you have programmed, enabled and not locked out.

If you want to navigate to a single TG before someone transmits, here are the steps. First you should be scanning the system (control channel). Put the scanner in MAN mode. Make sure you are in the correct bank. Press FUNC T to view/edit the TG list. Use the UP, DOWN & T keys to navigate to the desired TG. Press FUNC T again. After a brief moment (seems like seconds) the scanner will resume scanning but will be in ID HOLD MODE on that TG. If it doesn't work the first time, make sure the control channel was detected during scan mode and try again.
 

avdrummerboy

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2011
Messages
285
Location
High Desert, CA
Thanks for the response gmclam. That's what I figured, only the tedious way of locking everything out. It's not a huge issue, most of the time it is more exciting to just leave it in closed mode and listen to everything, I was just thinking that there might be an easy way to set the TID's up like 'regular' channels, though it's easy enough to just tap PAUSE when need be to stay on just one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top