San Diego Co/Imperial Co Regional Communications System (RCS) Question Thread

SDBud

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
83
Location
San Diego, Ca
Is ANYONE using a 996P2 successfully on the new RCS??

Got mine today, programmed in the n, w, and s freqs, but hear NOTHING in search mode.

Tried both Proscan and Freescan. Have most of the north TGs set up, and nothing in scan mode either.

One TV station is having the same problem. I REALLY can't afford $700 for a new radio!
 

Anderegg

Enter text in this field
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
1,827
Location
San Diego
Any station dumb enough to purchase 996P2's for an LSM system deserves to not hear anything. That being said, my TV station put a cell phone tower on top of our scanners...seriously!

996P2's may be able to have specific Unicorn locations where they will work, but for the most part, they cannot be considered a viable option unless specifially living their existance in a special Unicorn location.

Paul
 

carlt

Member
Joined
May 17, 2004
Messages
119
Location
SD County, CA
I have not seen any unicorns yet, but I am hearing all of the south agencies that have switched to NG, clear and very audible on my 996P2 and 325P2. I get 5 strong bars signal where I am. I use FreeSCAN for programming.
 
Last edited:

SDBud

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2008
Messages
83
Location
San Diego, Ca
OK, boys and girls, got a question..

Searching on the South zone NextGen, getting a 'double' TG ID in Proscan.

Comes up as 2066 2153 on the display but logs as only 2153. VERY active TG, SO RSD Dispatch..
Anyone know what's going on??
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,402
Location
San Diego, CA
OK, boys and girls, got a question..

Searching on the South zone NextGen, getting a 'double' TG ID in Proscan.

Comes up as 2066 2153 on the display but logs as only 2153. VERY active TG, SO RSD Dispatch..
Anyone know what's going on??
Rancho San Diego and Imperial Beach channels are often patched.
 
Top