• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Scan List Program ABC Switch XTS 2500

Status
Not open for further replies.

idle00955

Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
94
Location
Manch NH
For some reason I cant edit the scan list. I have the abc switch set to scan, blank, scan list prog. When I goto scan list prog it shows me what is in the scan list and says sel-del-rcl but if I press a button nothing happens. Did I miss something in the CPS?
 

bezking

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
2,661
Location
On the Road
Go into the scan list in CPS and under the General tab, make sure "Non-Priority Members," "Priority 1," and "Priority 2" are set to "Operator Select."
Edit: actually, if you aren't using priority scan, you just need to change "Non-Priority Members."
 
Last edited:

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
I strongly urge customers NOT to use a switch for entry into scan programming mode. The reason is that if you inadvertently enter scan program mode via a switch, the radio will stay there forever and while in that mode it won't work. You'll end up calling me to "fix" the radio.

Scan programming mode entered either via a menu or a long press of a sidebutton will time itself out to regular operation if no entries are made.

Note that you don't need a scan program mode menu item if you've programmed a side button for "scan," as a long press of the same button will enter scan programming mode.
 

FFPM571

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
1,284
Location
Chicago area
I use the ABC for scan on and scan off A scan on, B scan off C PL defeat. Im the only one who uses it so I am familiar with it .Its the same on all my XTS's
 

RodStrong

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
1,120
Location
West
I strongly urge customers NOT to use a switch for entry into scan programming mode. The reason is that if you inadvertently enter scan program mode via a switch, the radio will stay there forever and while in that mode it won't work. You'll end up calling me to "fix" the radio.
If you have scan prog via the concentric switch, the radio will sound a solid tone if you fail to do something while in it or fail to get out of it, therefore reminding/warning you to get out.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
If you have scan prog via the concentric switch, the radio will sound a solid tone if you fail to do something while in it or fail to get out of it, therefore reminding/warning you to get out.
So I'll get a call asking "Why is my radio beeping?" Usually well after dinner.
 

RodStrong

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
1,120
Location
West
So I'll get a call asking "Why is my radio beeping?" Usually well after dinner.
Perhaps, but of the hundreds of radios under my care that are programmed this way, and amongst the hundreds of users that I have trained, this has never once been an issue. The radio doesn't beep by the way. It's a steady tone that is quite the attention getter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top