WS1040: Scanner Freezing when scanlist enabled

PKnight56

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
20
Location
Raleigh, NC
Hello,

I've had a Whister WS1040 for about a year now and just decided to add a trunked Law Enforcement TSYS to monitor protests. After adding a certain TSYS via a VIPER P25 system, I've run into an issue when trying to hear anything. I usually listen to Fire Ops perfectly fine with no issues on Scan Lists 1-4, after enabling the new Law Enforcement scan list (5) the scanner ignores it completely. When I try to bypass that and only enable scan list 5, the whole scanner freezes completely and monitors nothing until I enable a scan list from 1-4.

I program with WIN500 and haven't had any issues until now, does anyone have any ideas as to what is wrong?

Video of issue:
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,697
Location
Baltimore County, MD
Can you please right click on the WIN500 file and send it to a compressed (zipped) folder. You will be able to attach the zipped file.
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,697
Location
Baltimore County, MD
There are no site frequencies for the VIPER Events system. I assume you are in Wake County. I don't see any PD frequencies other than the Statewide Events on the VIPER system. From the database, it appears that Wake County uses the Motorola Type II system for everything.. Use just the frequencies marked "c" and "a" for the 8 sites for Wake County. If you set Multi-Site to Roam, you will scan the site with the best signal. If Multi-Site is set to Stationary, you will scan all sites for the frequencies you entered. Try using the site or sites closest to you.

 
Last edited:

PKnight56

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
20
Location
Raleigh, NC
By Law Enforcement I meant the Statewide event channels, Those are what they're using for protests. I need to have the sites in addition to what I already have in the file, or just the sites? (This has become more of an assistance post but hopefully this will stop it form freezing up on me)
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,939
Location
Raleigh, NC
@tvengr he was trying to program VIPER towers 41 ARCHDALE and 57 NCSHP TRAINING CNT with the statewide events TGs
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,697
Location
Baltimore County, MD
@tvengr he was trying to program VIPER towers 41 ARCHDALE and 57 NCSHP TRAINING CNT with the statewide events TGs
I saw my error with my earlier post and updated it. I am not sure which sites are the best. His file has no frequencies entered for the VIPER Events system. I would appreciate your input with the sites he needs..
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,939
Location
Raleigh, NC
I saw my error with my earlier post and updated it. I am not sure which sites are the best. His file has no frequencies entered for the VIPER Events system. I would appreciate your input with the sites he needs..
Archdale, West Raleigh and NCSHP Training Cnter
 

PKnight56

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
20
Location
Raleigh, NC
So I imported the sites (Archdale, West Raleigh, and NCSHP Training Center) and talk groups (events) that you mentioned @N1GAW, and the freezing problem has gone away. However, I'm still not receiving anything.
 

PKnight56

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
20
Location
Raleigh, NC
The Creedmore site is closest to where I am currently, would that have anything to do with it? I doubt Im very far off from any of them
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,697
Location
Baltimore County, MD
Archdale, West Raleigh and NCSHP Training Cnter
[/QUOTE
Thank you! PKnight56, please use just the control channel (c) and alternate (a) frequencies for the following sites.


1 (1)041 (29)Archdale BuildingWake, NC852.0875852.5375c853.5625a854.2875854.4625854.6875857.1125
858.0125858.6125860.4875
1 (1)042 (2A)West Raleigh SHP C and LWake, NC769.20625c769.68125a770.70625773.03125773.30625773.55625773.83125
774.08125774.33125774.78125
1 (1)057 (39)NCSHP Training CenterWake, NC772.60625c772.88125a773.13125773.38125773.63125773.90625774.15625
774.40625774.65625774.90625
 
Last edited:

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,939
Location
Raleigh, NC
Are you seeing the trunking signal on the display with those towers? If not you are too far away. Certainly try Creedmore not sure if the TG will be on that tower, but worth trying.
 

PKnight56

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 21, 2018
Messages
20
Location
Raleigh, NC
Just imported Creedmoor and the events channels and Im still not getting anything, I am getting the trunking signal after switching multisite to roam
 

N1GAW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,939
Location
Raleigh, NC
Did you see the trunking signal on the other towers? My thinking is the TG is only on the Archdale and maybe NCSHP TC towers as this is concentrated in downtown
 

tvengr

Active Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,697
Location
Baltimore County, MD
@tvengr @PKnight56 here is my Win500 file for a Pro 197 scanlist 18 and 20 is what you want. I don't know how to change/import from 197 to ws1040.

The files are interchangeable. The only difference would possibly be display mode and time settings.
 
Top