Scanner Recommendation - MilAir r-2508 complex

Status
Not open for further replies.

gyster

Hello, I live in Ridgecrsest, CA and am interested in monitoring MilAir communication in the r-2508 complex. Here's a handbook with lots of information for pilots using this complex:

Some of the bases that use this complex are China Lake NWC (in Ridgecrest), Edwards AFB and others. There is a military training route that runs through this complex and one section called the Jedi Transition is a great place to see low-flying military aircraft. According to information in the handbook, aircraft entering this transition have to broadcast their intent to enter on 315.9 mhz. This is also designated as a low flight level frequency throughout the entire complex, and pilots are encouraged to monitor it while operating there.

I'm just starting to learn about radio frequencies, but I'm not at all comfortable with what I think I know. I'm interested in a handheld set that can monitor military aircraft including the frequency above. I've seen claims that the Uniden BC125AT can monitor military aircraft, but I don't know about specific frequencies. The
BCD325P2 looks like it adds a lot of functionality, but I have no idea if I need this (and the added expense) to do what I want. I'm not at all locked into any brand - I just want to make sure before I purchase that I'm getting something that does what I need and does it well. Any help is certainly appreciated!

N9JCQ

Premium Subscriber