Scanner software

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris0516

Active Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
655
Location
Pittsboro, North Carolina
I have been using FreeScan for a couple years. Does software like ProScan, etc.; offer a real-time advantage over FreeScan? If so, what?
TIA

Edit: When I tried to run the installer for the ProScan client. Windows Defender blocked it.
 
Last edited:

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
24,835
Location
Bowie, Md.
I believe that ProScan supports DMR and NXDN programming; FreeScan doesn't. And the most important 'real time advantage' - ProScan is updated from time to time; sadly, FreeScan has been abandoned. And of course there's the ability to put your scanner on the web that ProScan has, if that's your thing...Mike
 

Chris0516

Active Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
655
Location
Pittsboro, North Carolina
I believe that ProScan supports DMR and NXDN programming; FreeScan doesn't. And the most important 'real time advantage' - ProScan is updated from time to time; sadly, FreeScan has been abandoned. And of course there's the ability to put your scanner on the web that ProScan has, if that's your thing...Mike
Good points. Especially about it being abandoned. I just don't want to put my scanner on the Internet.
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
5,884
Location
Ontario, Calif.
All systems including trunking should download. Are all the systems showing in the "Download Data From Scanner" dialog window? Are they checked?
What type of scanner?
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,748
Location
Michigan
I have had more than one radio software program give a false positive, but never had the installation blocked. It happens with other anti virus/malware software.
 

columbas

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
173
Other than freescan is there any other free scanner programing software on the internet ?
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
9,615
Location
Dallas, TX
Radio shack pro-197
There is no "free" software for that scanner model. The closest you could get is to download one of the three software programs that cover your model, then use it for the 30 day trial period. If you've already gone through the trial period on all of them, then you either have to purchase a license for the one you like best, or quit using software.
 

Chris0516

Active Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
655
Location
Pittsboro, North Carolina
All systems including trunking should download. Are all the systems showing in the "Download Data From Scanner" dialog window? Are they checked?
What type of scanner?
I realized, after I posted that. That they were 'collapsed'. I hadn't clicked on 'Expand All'.:eek: That fixed the 'problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top