Scanner Tales: Why am I doing this?

N9JIG

Sheriff
I have written about a dozen or so Scanner Tales over the last month or so and have a few ideas for some more. I have had a few people ask me why I am doing this all of a sudden. So here goes:

I have been a writer all my life, my mom often said I could tell a story in a hundred words that others could tell in 10. I took it as a compliment, but something tells me that might be entirely accurate. Later, when I got on the police department, I got yelled at by the sergeant that my reports were too short. I wrote a crash report once that merely said, “Vehicle 1 rear-ended Vehicle 2”. Concise, accurate and he knew exactly what I meant but he said to fill the page. I then took a hint from a co-worker and wrote in the smallest letters possible in order to get more words in the allotted space and wrote a narrative worthy of Tolkien. 500 words on how the driver’s approached the intersection, flowing descriptions of the vehicles, weather conditions and drivers ensued. Let’s just say that the sergeant laughed as he read it and then made me do it right, at least according to him. After that I wrote much longer reports but kept it more reasonable.

I have had a lot of experience with scanners over 50 years or so, having used and abused almost every one made or sold by Uniden, Bearcat, RadioShack, Regency, Midland, RCA, Robyn, Cobra, Wards, Sears, Penny’s and more. As I am old and a cheeseburger away from a heart attack as well as deathly afraid I will start forgetting things I figured I would leverage my ability to espouse with my experience.