Scanning a Favorite List with mixed conventional and digital systems... possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JE5SEJAMES

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the scanner world so please bear with me.

This may be a dumb question but is it possible to scan conventional and digital systems on the same Favorites List?

Why am I asking this dumb question? I'm glad you asked!

I've created a Favorite List (we'll call it, Green Thumb) that contains the following systems:

1. Marietta City Services Trunking System, Marietta, Georgia - Scanner Frequencies
2. Federal Protective Service Atlanta MOT Trunking System, Various, Georgia - Scanner Frequencies
3. Cobb Regional Radio System Trunking System, Various, Georgia - Scanner Frequencies

Based on my understanding. 1 is conventional, 2 and 3 are digital.

When I choose Green Thumb from Lists I want to scan, and all other lists off, the scanner only scans system 1 from Green Thumb and bounces through the departments in 1.

I've checked a few things but don't want to skip any basic troubleshooting items so... fire away with suggestions.

Thanks in advance for the help!

nessnet

Premium Subscriber
I have multiple "mixed" FLs, so that is not the problem - somewhere in your programming is...
Did you program quick keys on 1, 2 & 3 above? Are they all on?

6079smithw

No such thing as a 'dumb' question'. You have 3 different systems in your FL; NXDN, Motorola Type II and P25 Phase II.
Assuming the NXDN is OK, I'd start with checking programming settings on the other two for openers.
What scanner and program software are you using?

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
Yeah you can do that all day long. You can have any combination of system types in your Favorites List. The only requirement is that each specific system is added as a separate System in the Favorites List. Yeah, the context is a little weird as in a system for a System.