Scanning Conventional & Trunked

Status
Not open for further replies.

slurpeeatwork

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
13
Location
Port Charlotte, Florida
I have read the manual (page 30) on scanning both conventional and trunked frequencies, but when I put it back on trunked like the manual states I get nothing. I take trunked off and I hear everything. Is the manual backwords?

Pro-433 w/external discone antenna
 

slurpeeatwork

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
13
Location
Port Charlotte, Florida
The radio is a RS Pro-433. I'm using ARC but I don't think that has anything to do with my question. The question is about the RS Pro-433 manual and how to scan conventional and trunked at the same time.
 

Bucko

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2005
Messages
1,024
Location
Marietta, Ohio
The manual is pretty brief on the description of what you can do. Myself I keep trunked system's to a bank of their own because I only scan EDACS and LTR systems anyway. I have never tried MOT mixed in the same bank as conventional like my GRE scanners but being it is a Uniden I would guess that maybe a problem.
 
Last edited:

LEH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
1,473
Location
Yorktown, Virginia
slurpeeatwork said:
The radio is a RS Pro-433. I'm using ARC but I don't think that has anything to do with my question. The question is about the RS Pro-433 manual and how to scan conventional and trunked at the same time.

It has EVERYTHING to do with it. Page 30 of my 396 manual is not the same info as page 30 of my 500 manual and certainly not the same as page 30 of your 433 manual..

Each radio is different so knowing what we are dealing with HELPS get you the right (correct) answer. This group is very good at helping, so don't get testy when someone tries to help by getting more information.

Now generally speaking, you can mix a trunked system and multiple conventional frequencies in the same bank. I've done this on several occasions. Especially when a trunked system still simulcasts on its old conventional frequencies. Some early trunk trackers would only scan a sinlge trunked system or your conventional banks. Mixing was not an option. Those days are long gone, but if the 433 falls into that category, my general statement is null and void. Simple test is if you can listen to two banks at the same time, with one or more being trunked, you're going to be able to put conventional into the trunked bank. Or scan a trunked bank and conventional bank simultaneously (in scan order).

Just make sure that if you can do it, you do not have the conventional channels marked as a trunk frequency. Some of the earlier (and I don't recall if the 433 does this) RS GRE models have a 'mode' button which allows you to select the reception mode. Normallly these are something like "AM", "FM", "MOT", and "ED".

If you select a trunked mode, then it will not receive the conventional signals. The reverse is true. If you have a trunked frequency marked as a conventional or not the correct trunked type, that frequency will not be monitored.
 
Last edited:

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,067
slurpeeatwork said:
I have read the manual (page 30) on scanning both conventional and trunked frequencies, but when I put it back on trunked like the manual states I get nothing. I take trunked off and I hear everything. Is the manual backwords?

I suggest you join this free group. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PRO-433_scanners
In the group FILES section you will find a simple explanation about trunking and step by step programming help.
The PRO-433 programming is different than some scanners. After a trunked system is set up, just add the conventional freqs. If it's a Motorola system you can use the CC ONLY mode and that programming is very different than most scanners.
 

slurpeeatwork

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
13
Location
Port Charlotte, Florida
My apologies. I did not mean to come across as "testy." The area that I'm in uses Motorola Type II Smartnet. I have conventional and trunked in the same bank and in the next bank only trunked frequencies in the talk group. I have bank 1 setup like the following.

Freq (Mhz) Trunk Delay Lockout Tag Priority
863.6375 Yes Yes No Off

The \Ttalk Group within Bank 1 is setup like the following (MOT Type II). I left the Tag blank since the pro-433 does not display tag information on the display (quite disappointing).
ID Tag LockOut Priority
1-1 80
1-2 176

I have a feeling that since the trunked freqencies are in the same bank they come up automatically in the regular scan mode. Reason being I can hear the op tell a unit to go to Tactical 1 and it follows them to it and Tactical 1 is a trunked frequency.
 

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
8,383
I take trunked off and I hear everything

hi slurpeeatwork ,welcome to RadioReference. :)

Let's start at square one.

Do you have any talkgroups programmed into yourscan lists ?

You will hear traffic in conventional mode , but not in trunked SCAN if those scan lists were never programmed with talkgroups. It will just sit there in trunked mode .

Search mode is different in trunking , there you will see random talkgroups appear.

Get back to us on your progress.
 
Last edited:

slurpeeatwork

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
13
Location
Port Charlotte, Florida
I'm not sure what you mean by "scan lists." I have 22 conventional frequencies programed into the bank 1 list and approximately 15 programmed into trunk talk group list. Is that what you mean?
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,935
Location
Katy, TX
LEH said:
It has EVERYTHING to do with it. Page 30 of my 396 manual is not the same info as page 30 of my 500 manual and certainly not the same as page 30 of your 433 manual..

Each radio is different so knowing what we are dealing with HELPS get you the right (correct) answer. This group is very good at helping, so don't get testy when someone tries to help by getting more information. ...
Lynn,
I you are clearly in the wrong here, did you bother to read the OP? The user plainly stated what radio was involved. Other than that, based on the question no other information was necessary.

In addition, all that information you provided about GRE built radios will little serve to help the individual with a Uniden built device. Perhaps a bit more reading and a bit less jumping on the keyboard first would serve the community a little better. ;)
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,240
Location
Fortunately, GA
slurpeeatwork said:
I'm not sure what you mean by "scan lists." I have 22 conventional frequencies programed into the bank 1 list and approximately 15 programmed into trunk talk group list. Is that what you mean?

All frequencies are programmed into bank channels(conventional and trunked) Scanlists are where you program the talkgroups for trunked systems, ( two to five digit numbers that are assigned to PD, FD, EMS, etc.). Conventional frequencies are the 155.XXX, 160.XXX, 450.XXX that are programmed into separate bank channels like the trunking frequencies are. Knowing that this is a Uniden product, the frequencies for trunked have to be programmed in a separate bank by pushing the E/PGM button, then the TRUNK button. All of your bank numbers will flash, then pick which bank you wish to program in the Control Channel frequencies, then you need to pick what type of system to be programmed in: E800, E900, E-Hi (vhf), E-UHF. This is on page 24 of your manual. Once you get the bank setup with the type and mode: MOT, ED, LT, enter the frequencies as stated in the manual. Page 25 tells you how to put in the ID's. When the bank is set to trunk, you cannot add conventional frequencies. Another bank needs to be used for VHF and UHF. I have owned many uniden scanners over the years, Pro-90, BC245, BC780, that are trunking scanners. Unless you buy one of the GRE made scanners, i.e. Pro97, Pro164, Pro2055, Pro163, or, the higher priced digital scanners,(GRE or Uniden)like the Pro96, BCD396, you will not be able to combine trunked and conventional. Hopefully, this answers why you hear the trunked system as if it were a conventional system.
Larry
 

DickH

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
4,067
N8IAA said:
All frequencies are programmed into bank channels(conventional and trunked) Scanlists are where you program the talkgroups for trunked systems, ( two to five digit numbers that are assigned to PD, FD, EMS, etc.). Conventional frequencies are the 155.XXX, 160.XXX, 450.XXX that are programmed into separate bank channels like the trunking frequencies are. Knowing that this is a Uniden product, the frequencies for trunked have to be programmed in a separate bank by pushing the E/PGM button, then the TRUNK button. All of your bank numbers will flash, then pick which bank you wish to program in the Control Channel frequencies, then you need to pick what type of system to be programmed in: E800, E900, E-Hi (vhf), E-UHF. This is on page 24 of your manual. Once you get the bank setup with the type and mode: MOT, ED, LT, enter the frequencies as stated in the manual. Page 25 tells you how to put in the ID's. When the bank is set to trunk, you cannot add conventional frequencies. Another bank needs to be used for VHF and UHF. I have owned many uniden scanners over the years, Pro-90, BC245, BC780, that are trunking scanners. Unless you buy one of the GRE made scanners, i.e. Pro97, Pro164, Pro2055, Pro163, or, the higher priced digital scanners,(GRE or Uniden)like the Pro96, BCD396, you will not be able to combine trunked and conventional. Hopefully, this answers why you hear the trunked system as if it were a conventional system.
Larry

While the PRO-433 is a Uniden scanner, it is a Uniden, JAPAN product and Uniden USA denies any knowledge of it.
Control Channel Only requires the proper Band Plan to be selected in addition to the Control Channel freqs.
Trunked and conventional freqs. can be monitored in the same bank. It works very well in all my PRO-433s and PRO-528s.
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,240
Location
Fortunately, GA
DickH said:
While the PRO-433 is a Uniden scanner, it is a Uniden, JAPAN product and Uniden USA denies any knowledge of it.
Control Channel Only requires the proper Band Plan to be selected in addition to the Control Channel freqs.
Trunked and conventional freqs. can be monitored in the same bank. It works very well in all my PRO-433s and PRO-528s.

Cool. Did not know that. Thank you for the info. I just learned something new:)
Larry
 

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
8,383
slurpeeatwork said:
I'm not sure what you mean by "scan lists." I have 22 conventional frequencies programed into the bank 1 list and approximately 15 programmed into trunk talk group list. Is that what you mean?

Does this system rotate the control channels daily ?
That may be a variable to this problem.

I'd like to know which trunking flavor we are discussing here. :confused:

How about you provide a link to the system in question and let us have a look ? :)
 

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
8,383
Those twenty two freq's you mentioned that you entered in conventional mode should be entered in E2-800 trunked mode. according to what I see in the database link.
I would suggest to do them over again ,setting up the bank for E2-800.
BTW, your link confirms that the control channels rotate in that system.
 

slurpeeatwork

Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
13
Location
Port Charlotte, Florida
I just checked the system setting and the conventional bank is setup as follows:
E2-800 - Motorola Type 2 - 800 MHz

I shouldn't have to reprogram them correct? If the control channels rotate then I would not want to turn the priority mode on for them correct?
 

N8IAA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
7,240
Location
Fortunately, GA
slurpeeatwork said:
I just checked the system setting and the conventional bank is setup as follows:
E2-800 - Motorola Type 2 - 800 MHz

I shouldn't have to reprogram them correct? If the control channels rotate then I would not want to turn the priority mode on for them correct?

Correct,do not use priority mode for trunktracking. Just put in the CC's. Let the scanner do the work it was meant too:))

Larry
 

LEH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
1,473
Location
Yorktown, Virginia
loumaag said:
Lynn,
I you are clearly in the wrong here, did you bother to read the OP? The user plainly stated what radio was involved. Other than that, based on the question no other information was necessary.

In addition, all that information you provided about GRE built radios will little serve to help the individual with a Uniden built device. Perhaps a bit more reading and a bit less jumping on the keyboard first would serve the community a little better. ;)

Lou,

You are correct, I did miss the radio on the bottom of the OP apparently as did AlabamaRS. I apologize to all for that oversight.

My additional comments, as I don't have a 433 was attempting to (defending myself here) state that you can typically (except in some older trunk tracker scanners) mix and scan conventional and trunked in the same bank. I also don't know if the 433 (like the 96 does) has a mode switch.

I think slurpee is getting the help he needs now and learning a bit as the replies continue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top