Scantenna inside?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KEVPRO95

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
141
Location
MA
I purchased a Scantenna ST2 and I have it inside my apartment.

It's left to right instead of up and down. Will this make a huge difference?

My problem with installing it outside is a tree is about 10-15' away from power lines. That would be the only place to mount it. I didn't cause I figured it wouldn't be safe. Am I right?

Any ideas where to put it for max effects? My ceilings are 7'.

I'm picking up channels 26 miles south of my location with 1bar signal.
North is 20miles with full bars.
 

737mech

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
1,820
Location
Clark County, NV.
I purchased a Scantenna ST2 and I have it inside my apartment.

It's left to right instead of up and down. Will this make a huge difference?

My problem with installing it outside is a tree is about 10-15' away from power lines. That would be the only place to mount it. I didn't cause I figured it wouldn't be safe. Am I right?

Any ideas where to put it for max effects? My ceilings are 7'.

I'm picking up channels 26 miles south of my location with 1bar signal.
North is 20miles with full bars.
That antenna should be vertical because the signals are vertical. Outside would be better I'd ask your apartment owner first. Not in the tree, is there a TV antenna on the roof already?
 

KEVPRO95

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
141
Location
MA
That antenna should be vertical because the signals are vertical. Outside would be better I'd ask your apartment owner first. Not in the tree, is there a TV antenna on the roof already?

Can't put it on the roof. No antennas there either.


Kevin
 

br0adband

Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
1,569
Location
Springfield MO
If it works inside, fine, but as noted it should be mounted in the proper position (standing or vertical) because the antennas broadcasting the signals you want to monitor are mounted in the same position aka it's a polarization thing.
 

KEVPRO95

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
141
Location
MA
Ok understandable. I'll have to find a way to mount it outside. But not in a tree or roof. How about a 10' pole that's in the ground?


Kevin
 

doublescan

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2011
Messages
118
Location
Blount Co, AL
Even on a short pole, if it's outside it should work nicely. Go high enough with the pole to keep the elements away from kids, lawnmowers, cattle,etc. (it's a fairly long antenna, as you know)
 

KEVPRO95

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
141
Location
MA
Even on a short pole, if it's outside it should work nicely. Go high enough with the pole to keep the elements away from kids, lawnmowers, cattle,etc. (it's a fairly long antenna, as you know)

Ok thanks. I'll see what I can come up with. What about grounding this? Or will the pole into the ground take care of that?


Kevin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top