Screen Dust.

Status
Not open for further replies.

BOWLERPBA

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
60
Location
N. Colorado
I have read in the Uniden groups that people with the new 436 are finding dust appearing on the inside of the screen. Anybody else here in Colorado having that issue? Mine has been inside since I got it and I hate having to get the duct tape out to seal the unit after paying $500.00.
 

natedawg1604

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 29, 2013
Messages
1,956
Location
Denver-Metro
....Only quirk I have with it is, Phase 2 systems are spotty.
Are you referring to a system which deployed "Phase 2" Talkgroups, i.e. Talkgroups that cannot be scanned without a Phase 2 capable scanner? If so, which system(s)/ Talkgroup(s) would these be??
 

WaveRunner

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
148
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 4.3; SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 Build/JSS15J) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/34.0.1847.114 Mobile Safari/537.36)

It might be my location, but this thing will pull in Westy good and then nothing for a bit. Thats the only system with this issue, everything else comes in fine. Using a RS 800 antenna.
 

Steve2003

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
747
Location
Colorado
No dust on my 536.

Wave Runner- I haven't seen any Phase-2 use yet on the Westy system. It is a simulcast cluster though which could explain your signal dropping in and out. If you do a channel hold does "DAT" remain solidly lit when you are not receiving a transmission?
 

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7,977
The dust problem is on the 436 not the 536. Mine appeared to be dry skin from my fingers as it had never been outside. This also told me that the display was not air tight/moisture resistant as well. This was the main reason I returned it.
 

WaveRunner

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
148
Location
Albuquerque, NM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 4.3; SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 Build/JSS15J) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/34.0.1847.114 Mobile Safari/537.36)

Steve2003 said:
No dust on my 536.

Wave Runner- I haven't seen any Phase-2 use yet on the Westy system. It is a simulcast cluster though which could explain your signal dropping in and out. If you do a channel hold does "DAT" remain solidly lit when you are not receiving a transmission?
Steve - I was going by what the db showed. No the DAT does not stay on hince the instability. Guess its good I don't listen to them much.
 

daveharpe

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
189
Location
Chicago
I had a little dust in mine but a hit of compressed air along the edge of the screen cleared it out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top