SDR# download/frequency scanner

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,024
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
Should I download the Community Package with Plugins so I get the frequency scanner plugin, or the other download with no plugins and download the frequency scanner plugin separately ??
Steve
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,685
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
I would do the latter. The Community Package has "everything"....75% of which most of us don't need. I tried it once and scuttled it in favor of the manual install.
 

dlwtrunked

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
779
Should I download the Community Package with Plugins so I get the frequency scanner plugin, or the other download with no plugins and download the frequency scanner plugin separately ??
Steve
Unless you know what you are doing, download the Community Package which has other things you want and installs effortlessly. If you download the "base" version, you have to put the plugins in the right place as well as edit and SDRSharp file to get them to work--the Community package does that for you. (You can install both in different directories as I have done). If only installing one of these, unless you have a reason not to, I would install the Community Package. (I own only 9? AirSpys.)
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,685
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
And as stated above, yes if you're not familiar with how the plug-in setup works it may benefit you to use the community package, but it is not difficult to do it manually either. Each plug-in zip file has a "magic line" text file that just needs to be copied/pasted into the plugins.xml file. That file can be edited with Notepad. The remaining files simply need to be copied into the same folder that SDR# is running from.
 

dlwtrunked

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
779
I would do the latter. The Community Package has "everything"....75% of which most of us don't need. I tried it once and scuttled it in favor of the manual install.
I do not understand why. It gives you the quick capability to use various add-ons with no disadvantage. Originally, I only used the "manual install" for years but recently discovered that is a mistake that causes more work on my part and makes one unaware of the usefulness of some newer plug-ins as well as making upgrading to a new version a hassle with having to re-install the separate plug-ins. Definitely not what I recommend if you are going to use any plug-ins.
 

morfis

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
1,050
If you don't need all the junk then always go for the plain version and add in only the plugins you will use.
You will learn more.

Also, have a look at this thread regarding the scanner plugin:
 

KC1UA

Scan New England Janitor/Maintenance
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,685
Location
Marstons Mills, Cape Cod, Massachusetts
I do not understand why. It gives you the quick capability to use various add-ons with no disadvantage. Originally I only used the "manual install" for years but recently discovered that is a mistake that causes more work on my part and makes one unaware of the usefulness of some newer plug-ins.
Guess I just like the cleaner install. It also leaves out the standard DSD interface and just adds a lot of stuff that as I said I don't need. End user preference...that's mine.
 

dave3825

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 17, 2003
Messages
2,676
Location
New York
If your not that familiar with the plugin process, go for the one that has everything and then use the plug in editor to remove what you do not want. Open the editor and click each thing you don't want. The plugin editor removes the magic line in the plugins.xml that enables that plugin.
 

YoShep69

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
113
Location
Central Illinois
If your not that familiar with the plugin process, go for the one that has everything and then use the plug in editor to remove what you do not want. Open the editor and click each thing you don't want. The plugin editor removes the magic line in the plugins.xml that enables that plugin.
It isn't necessary to do this is it?

Thanks
 
Top