SDR Network?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
Hey
I want to put my dongle on my attic and there is no Pc or Server. So i know someone use an Arduino or an RasperryPi for. So what does i need for?
How many Dongle on one "Server" can i use SDR# at the same Time?
Thanks
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
I use an USB to but the Server is on the 4th Floor and i life in the ground floor.
And i cant drill any hole my dad will kill me...
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,394
Location
Upstate New York
I've used seven at the same time.

But typically I use only four.

Rich

Four instances of SDR# running simultaneously.
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
Why not?
I want to keep the Antenna Cable so short as possible.
 

AZScanner

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,352
Location
Somewhere in this room. Right now, you're very col
Why not?
I want to keep the Antenna Cable so short as possible.
In that case I'd suggest putting a cheap laptop up there with your dongle and then connect to it via TCP/IP. Still not getting why you'd want your dongle way up on the 4th floor when you live on the first floor. Putting an antenna up there still makes more sense to me....

-AZ
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
Putting an antenna up there still makes more sense to me....
I will put the Antennas on top of my Roof but how does the Data came to my?
And did you use any Windows Application to transfer your Data into your Network?
I use Google but i could not find any answer.
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
And i cant put 10 Cabel truth the Wall my dad kill me for that...
 

AZScanner

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,352
Location
Somewhere in this room. Right now, you're very col
Well I honestly don't know, as I've never done it myself, but I do see the option in SDR# to connect to the dongle via TCPIP so there must be a way. Perhaps someone else who has gotten this to work can chime in. I'm reasonably sure that you will need to put a computer in the attic along with your dongle for this to work. A Raspberry PI or Arduino is probably not going to cut it.

-AZ
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
so ok what kind of software does i need to transfer the data over the network?
THX!
 

AZScanner

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,352
Location
Somewhere in this room. Right now, you're very col
so ok what kind of software does i need to transfer the data over the network?
THX!
You need a little utility called RTL_TCP running on the server (laptop up in the attic for example) that your client (PC in your room running SDR# for example) can talk to and get the data from the dongle for processing. This link should get you started, but again I've never tried it so I have no idea how it works in actual use.

The other thing to watch out for if you plan to do this is that attics can get very hot or cold depending on conditions outside. These litle RTL dongles like to drift around when they get hot. If you're doing any sort of digital decoding, this will be a big factor in how well it works (or doesn't).

Good luck!

-AZ
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
Thas thats interesting!
And i found an PoE Adapter for the Raspberry Pi.
 

Pape

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
188
Location
Quebec
If you go the PI route get a powered USB HUB and connect the PI power requirement on the HUB also you will need a USB compatible wireless adapter for the PI and your RTL dongle, you can connect all of them to the powered HUB, will help as the PI usb power is not the best out there.

I did experiment using the PI and found out to be unstable after couples of hours, now keep in mind I got the old hardware revision not the new one with extra ram.
 

Your_account

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
1,259
Location
.AT
its possible to send the ADS-B Data directly into my network so i can safe more hardware.
i want only one cable for my Pi and usb is not the best choise for.
 

Pape

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
188
Location
Quebec
RTL 1090 will decode the ADS-B RTL dongle and make the information available to the network so you can connect your tracking software to it, unfortunately it only windows therefore you need to find a similar software that work on your Linux PI distro.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top