SDS 200 remote via tablet

newsnick175

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
660
Location
Denver, North Carolina
Todays cars and some trucks have no under dash space to mount any kind of radio much less a scanner. A small tablet on a gooseneck would make an excellent remote control head. How do we make this work? Is there a fix out there? Is this even possible?
 

nessnet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
469
Location
Kenmore, WA
The SDS 200 has an ethernet port. ProScan will remote control an SDS 200 via Ethernet.

The trick would be to set up a LAN in the car to connect the two.
 

jpjohn

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
226
Location
Wisconsin
While waiting for a remote head...I've done just that. I have my two SDS200's virtually appear on a tablet. It works but not ideal....no way to enlarge display on Proscan so very hard to impossible to manipulate the knobs while driving. But it is better than nothing and at least you have a display to see who is talking. I connected the two scanners to a wireless lan and connect to the wireless lan with the tablet. I'm currently using an HP Stream tablet but looking for something maybe a little bigger.

But I'm still hoping that a remote head - as described in the Uniden Tavern several months ago and being worked on now (hopefully!!) will be out in the near future!
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,482
Location
Ontario, Calif.
While waiting for a remote head...I've done just that. I have my two SDS200's virtually appear on a tablet. It works but not ideal....no way to enlarge display on Proscan so very hard to impossible to manipulate the knobs while driving. But it is better than nothing and at least you have a display to see who is talking. I connected the two scanners to a wireless lan and connect to the wireless lan with the tablet. I'm currently using an HP Stream tablet but looking for something maybe a little bigger.

But I'm still hoping that a remote head - as described in the Uniden Tavern several months ago and being worked on now (hopefully!!) will be out in the near future!
Try turning on the Web Server feature then use a Web Browser on the same device. That way the Web Browser can increase the size of the virtual scanner.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
4,628
Location
Annapolis
Todays cars and some trucks have no under dash space to mount any kind of radio much less a scanner. A small tablet on a gooseneck would make an excellent remote control head. How do we make this work? Is there a fix out there? Is this even possible?
My SDS200 is mounted on top of the dash, center stack on my F150. Doesn't interfere with airbag deployment, and the display can be read except in bright sunlight (no true daylight readable display.)
 

Mofo84

Newbie
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
2
I miss the real knobs when using a phone or tablet....also 17 second delay from audio stream on my end. I just ended up getting a sds100 for on the go and left the sds200 at home.
 
Top