SDS100 Favorite List Help for Forsyth County

Status
Not open for further replies.

ccg_ga

I'm fairly new to scanning with the SDS100, but I have put in a lot of time recently to learn about how setup favorites lists recently and was hoping to get some input on what I am currently using to monitor Forsyth County. I live in the south part of Forsyth, not far from the Collection off Exit 13.

I'm hearing some traffic, mainly from the FCSO dispatch but not as much as I had expected to hear. I am aware that the FCFD is encrypted.

Here is my current setup in Sentinel - if the text is too small to read I can paste a PDF as well:

Screen Shot 2020-10-14 at 1.32.02 PM.png

I have mainly been monitoring the talk groups on the Cobb Regional Radio system. I have a Diamond MR77S (144/430 - probably not ideal for a trunked system) on a mag mount on the metal roof with the coax running inside.

So the two questions I had are:
1) Does this favorite list structure look correct for Forsyth County?
2) Am I missing any systems or frequencies I should be monitoring?
3) Can I remove or avoid the Bartow, Cobb, Cobb Jail, and Douglas Simulcast sites without impacting reception for Forsyth County traffic?

Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
While I'm not in your county, or state, your setup for Forsyth County appears to be good.

As far as the sites go (maybe someone in Georgia will comment further), I doubt that you would hear Cobb Jail at all. And, even if you did, probably what you'd hear would be limited and of little interest.

From where you indicate you are, I would be somewhat surprised if you could hear the Bartow or Douglas County sites. Unless there is something in either one of those counties that you really wanted to hear, I would simply ignore their sites and any talkgroups linked to those two counties.