SDS100 Static on VHF/UHF Analog Channels

Status
Not open for further replies.

lamopac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
45
Location
Pollock, La.
Starting last night, my SDS100 has starting having static on all the analog channels, which hangs them up. I'm not sure, but it sounds like the static may be generated inside the scanner. The scanner worked fine all day yesterday, when I got home and unplugged my GPS, that's when all this started. I tuned off the global filter last night and the scanner worked fine. Now I'm catching the static again. I cleared the user data via sentinel and uploaded my FL's and settings back to it. I still have a problem. Can someone help me figure out what's going on?
 

dhalbasch

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Messages
53
Location
Antioch, California
I'm having the same issue, on mine it comes and goes. When it's happening, do you receive anything on P25 or any form of digital?

Dennis
 

lamopac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
45
Location
Pollock, La.
I noticed that on the trunk systems it shows that it has a full signal and scans all the sites real slow, when it gets to a analog channel it catches the static and hangs up. If I hit avoid it just goes to the next analog channel and stops because of the static.
 

lamopac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
45
Location
Pollock, La.
I changed the SD card and that's not the problem, I'm filling out the paperwork now to send it in to be repaired.
 

Markb

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
1,214
Location
Planet Earth
Silly question, but are you sure you didn't accidentally tweak your squelch setting?
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
4,677
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
Remove the antenna as see it the static stops. If it does it could be some nearby interference like a cell phone charger or LED light or some other things that might be possible to pinpoint if you open squelch fully and try and move around to find the strongest interference level.
Or just increase the squelch level a bit until the static goes away and see if you still receive analog conversations without the squelch cutting it out.

/Ubbe
 

Bill1957

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
90
Location
New Jersey
Had the same problem last year. Static started and SDS100 failed completely shortly after. Returned it for repairs, got it back in about 4 weeks. "Bad solder joint touched up" as per Uniden repair tech. SDS100 has performed well since the repair.
 

lamopac

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Messages
45
Location
Pollock, La.
Remove the antenna as see it the static stops. If it does it could be some nearby interference like a cell phone charger or LED light or some other things that might be possible to pinpoint if you open squelch fully and try and move around to find the strongest interference level.
Or just increase the squelch level a bit until the static goes away and see if you still receive analog conversations without the squelch cutting it out.

/Ubbe
That was the first thing I tried, I turned my cell phone off and turned the TV and computer off still had static on those channels. I turned it on last night, now it only has two channels and won't scan either one of them and it quickly shows an CPU error. So I guess I'm going to send it in to Uniden for repair, thank goodness it still in the warranty period. Thanks everyone for the input.
 

tkenny53

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
142
Location
socal
has anyone tried Close Call to see if there is a RF close by causing the old time interference
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top