SDS100 Wake/Johnston Favorites

nunzii

Premium Subscriber
Apologies if this isn't the proper place to post, but I figured those familiar with the North Carolina area might be familiar. How do you have your favorites lists set up? I am new to scanners and the terminology in general - I recently picked up an SDS100 after remembering how my dad and I used to listen to these when I was young, bringing back many old memories. I'm trying to create my favorites instead of scanning the entire database with service-type filters to make things faster and easier for me to follow certain things happening. Bear with me while I learn the terminology, and I may be asking things that aren't 100% correct.

For example, Wake EMS within Wake/Cary P25 may give a TAC channel to change to, but then I have to flip over my hold to the Wake/Cary PS Tac department to find the TAC channel, all while scrolling through a bunch of other counties and departments that I don't even need. I'm also unfamiliar with the Site IDs and knowing if I need to exclude any or just let the default scan everything.

If this needs to be posted elsewhere, I can repost it to the correct place and remove this; just let me know.

AA4BK

Welcome! I find it's easier to not switch channels manually when you hear something like that. Just load all the channels you want, and let your scanner receive what you want. When they switch and key up, your scanner will probably receive that transmission anyway unless someone else is talking on another channel you're monitoring. If you're really concerned about certain channels, set priority to increase the chances of hearing those conversations. You're not going to always hear everything unless you have one scanner per channel, but you can catch most of what's going on!

KE4ZNR

Radio Geek
Premium Subscriber
Actually what would work better for what Nunzii is asking for is "Number Tags":