SDS200 GPS PUCK

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,059
Location
Dallas, TX
I'm not so sure of that. The SDS200 uses a totally different type cable than any of the GPS capable Uniden scanners. It's a "one piece" accessory that plugs into an RJ-45 port on the back side. Unlike the GPS used for the SDS100, the x36HP series, and the other`scanners that can be attached to a GPS, there is no separate power cable for the puck. I have not seen a cable that would convert the GPS module used for the 536HP to match the SDS200. I suppose if you knew the correct pin outd for the SDS200, you could fabricate something to work, but nothing that is currently available pre-made.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RRR

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
11,427
Location
VA
ABSOLUTELY NOT. The cabling is different, and the SDS200 uses 3V TTL signaling, while the 536 uses +- 6V RS232 signalling.
 

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 8, 2004
Messages
7,059
Location
Dallas, TX
ABSOLUTELY NOT. The cabling is different, and the SDS200 uses 3V TTL signaling, while the 536 uses +- 6V RS232 signalling.
Thanks John

Since it's a totally different output & voltage, you can't put enough lipstick on a 536HP puck to use it on the SDS200.
 

N9WI

Newbie
Joined
Jan 26, 2020
Messages
1
I use 9600. In Sentinel, go to Profile, Location Settings, GPS Options.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
11,427
Location
VA
If that doesn't give you the GPS indication, use 4800. All of the other Uniden pucks use 4800.
 

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
4,298
Location
Far NW Valley
Check this guide to the Universal GPS Kit, it will help explain how it works with various scanners. The matchbook style GPS uses 9600 baud.

 
Top