SDS200 Screen....Here we go again.......

fmurphy

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
55
Location
Umbarger,Tx
Purchased a SDS200 June of last year and the dreaded vertical lines scrolling across the screen started. It was terrible... I sent unit to Uniden in November for warranty repair and it came back working great. Just tonight I noticed the vertical lines again scrolling horizontal across the LCD. The 90 day warranty on the warranty work has expired, but being a known problem with this scanner, I wonder if Uniden will cover it?
Has anyone else had a problem with this occurring after replacement?
Thanks
Frank
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
8,439
Location
MACOMB, MI.
That's definitely a bummer! I think Uniden had a bad run on those. Hopefully they do the right thing.
 

ratboy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
873
Location
Toledo,Ohio
I just bought a second SDS200, and you guys are making me nervous. My first one has been great, only minor intermod issues and the original SD card failed in about a week after I got it. I didn't bother Uniden about the card. That was well over a year ago, and I was listening to it last night before I went to bed and it was doing great, I just need to prune down the sites to make it stop missing so much.
 

station09

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
66
The SDS 200 I have just over year old started to have the Flicking screen . You would think they would fixed this for no cost.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
8,439
Location
MACOMB, MI.
Talked to Uniden yesterday..... $89.95 to fix screen... won't cover second replacement...
In my mind you had a one year original warranty on the original which ended this June plus a 90-day warranty on the replacement which would amount to a total 15 month warranty which would take you to through September. If only the world was fair. :(
 

n1chu

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
845
Location
Farmington, Connecticut
And Uniden says there is no “issue” with the flickering display... from the reports here it seems there is. Sorry to hear about Uniden not giving you the consideration on warrenty work. That’s NOT how I would expect them to react. My SDS200 is also “flickering”. And since it’s the first time around for me with the radio being way out of warrenty I expected I’d need to pay for the repair... just procrastinating about shipping it back.
 

bryank104

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
92
I have a hp2 there is a white line running horizontal and center of the screen. Started yesterday
 

n1chu

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
845
Location
Farmington, Connecticut
I realize your post relates to displays but the display on the HP’s are touch sensitive, meaning they are not like the SDS200 display, which is what this thread addresses. That being said, suggest you first try a factory reset AFTER you back up your programming so you can reload it afterwards. Does the problem still present itself BEFORE you reload your programming? If yes then it needs to go in for repair. If no, reload your programming and see if the problem persists. That way you can determine if it’s a bad display or something in your programming that’s become corrupted. I have forgotten if there is an SD Card in the mix with the HP’s but if so, try another “known good” SD Card also.

I’ve always wondered if someone has offerred a general listing of steps users (without a test bench) can take to troubleshoot their radios initially. If so, I haven’t seen it. If there is, I’d appreciate seeing it.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
12,131
Location
VA
There is a ribbon cable connecting the HomePatrol display to the motherboard. Try unplugging and reseating it to solve the white line issue. One of the connector contacts isn't connecting to the cable properly.
 
Top