Sentinel not seeing 436 or MicroSD card in reader

Status
Not open for further replies.

R2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
36
Location
Pittsburgh
Bought an Asus laptop to use Sentinel with 436HP. First thing I did last week was to update firmware, no issues with that. Over the weekend created a Favorites list, but plugged the scanner in, Sentinel did not see the scanner. Tried loading a blank MicroSD card, the computer saw the disk, but Sentinel did not. Uninstalled and reinstalled Sentinel, no change.
Any ideas?

Did buy an external CD/DVD drive after updating the firmware, could the drivers for that interfere with Sentinel?
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
4,012
Tried loading a blank MicroSD card, the computer saw the disk, but Sentinel did not. Uninstalled and reinstalled Sentinel, no change.
Any ideas?

Sentinel will not recognize a blank card in the computer. If the computer sees it, then open Sentinel and from the toolbar click "Scanner", then "Clear User Data".

On the window that opens, check the box for "Display all drives". The card should show then.

Let that process finish, and then you can write to the card.

.
 

R2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
36
Location
Pittsburgh
That forced Sentinel to see the card, but still does not recognize the scanner.
Any ideas?
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
That forced Sentinel to see the card, but still does not recognize the scanner.
Any ideas?
With the Scanner running and connecting to your computer does the Scanner ask you for Mass storage ? if so press enter and see if the software can find it or not.
 

R2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
36
Location
Pittsburgh
Pressing E does show Mass Storage on the screen of the radio.
But when trying to load a Favorites list, the scanner does not show up in the window.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Connect the scanner to the Computer without running Software
To you hear Computer make a sound saying you connected something to it?
Do you get a pop up asking what do do, like open it to read the Folder ?
If so open it and see if you see a Folder called setup and if so try to run Setup.
Also before you do that go into your Device manager and see if you have any conflicts with any devices drivers etc. if so delete those and run the setup.
If all is good run the Software and click on read from Scanner or if nothing happen try write to scanner and see if that does do anything.
 

R2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 28, 2003
Messages
36
Location
Pittsburgh
Just finished a session with GeekSquad (bought the computer at Best Buy).
Seems the tech had to reassign a drive letter to the scanner so the software would recognize it.
Appears to be working now.
Thanks for the help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top