Separate priority settings using two radios with Sentinel

Doublea626

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
16
Location
California
(Besides manually)How do you guys separate pri settings for each radio in Sentinel profiles?. I have a specific setup (and a profile for each x36) for Metro PD on my 536 and Sheriff/County Fire etc. on my 436 (a lot of specific favorites on each). I was setting up duplicate favorite lists with a 4 or 5 in the title, but it wasn't really what I wanted. Any ideas on how to save these settings separately? Thanks
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
7,168
Location
Louisville, KY
Well, you would have to tackle a pretty complicated subject such as priority settings.

There are two distinctly different priority scanning "things", one for trunked systems and the other for conventional. For conventional, the only things in the Profile pertaining to priority are: whether priority is on, how often are priority channels checked for activity and the number of priority channels to check. (You could have 100 channels marked as priority channels, but you could set the scanner to check 5, 10, etc. You don't want too many priority channels, because the scanner may never get to them.)

Which channels are marked as priority channels is something set in Favorites Lists. Then priority channels that are in a System with a System Quick Key of 0 have a higher priority than priority channels in a System with a System Quick Key of 99.

And then you got trunked priority scanning, which is actually called Priority ID Scanning. That is all set/configured by the Favorites List and not in Sentinel. Then that is not a true priority scanning situation because there is no pre-emption of non-priority transmissions to check for traffic on a priority talkgroup.

Hopefully you are dealing with conventional frequencies and you do have some options there. Duplicating Favorites Lists is not a good thing for efficiency purposes.
 

nessnet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
715
Location
Eastside of Lake WA
A possible suggestion?

It is possible to have more than one Proscan. It does require multiple instances, (folders, each with a full copy).
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,272
Location
VA
Have separate favorite lists for each scanner with different names and priority settings. Create separate Sentinel profiles for each scanner, and only download he applicable favorite list(s) to each scanner. For example:

Favorite List A
Favorite List B

Profile A:
Favorite List A Download/Monitor ON
Favorite List B Download/Monitor OFF

Profile B:
Favorite List A Download/Monitor OFF
Favorite List B Download/Monitor ON
 

Ubbe

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
5,609
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
You don't want too many priority channels, because the scanner may never get to them.)
The scanner will always get to them. Most scanner models use the same kind of prio operation. If you have 100 prio channels it will jump out of a conventional conversation and check those 100 channels which would take away 2 seconds from the conversation where there will be silence. Even in DND Prio it could be a disadvantage to stop scanning other systems during that time but you can probably live with it.

That's why you in most scanners can set a limit how many of those 100 channels that should be checked in one go. The next time prio kicks in it scans the next bunch of those 100 channels. If you have set the limit to 20 it will be a 1/4 sec break in conventional conversations and in DND mode it doesn't interupt the scanning for too long. After 5 cycles of prio checks it has gone thru all 100 prio channels. Usually it's a 2 sec prio interval so it will take 10 sec to go thru all 100 prio channels.

It's probably advisable to have a total of max 20 prio channels and 10 at each go to not make it too annoying but DND can probably be 50 without any problem.

/Ubbe
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
7,168
Location
Louisville, KY
Probably should have said "all channels" instead of "them". (As in spending all its time looking at priority frequencies.)
 
Top