SDS100: Set charge while on

Status
Not open for further replies.

WeBeCinYa

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415
Location
NC
I’ve noticed that the setting on my SDS100 for charging while listening keeps going to “disable” occasionally. I have set this feature to enable and it usually stays enabled but then I’ll go plug it it’s and notice that the light doesn’t turn on indicating charging. I have to go into settings again and enable. Any ideas why this setting changes by itself?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

gootch

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Feb 8, 2003
Messages
92
Location
Sun Prairie Wisconsin
Same hear. Happened to me just yesterday. This is just a guess but when it has happened to me it is after discharging the battery to the point when the battery warning message shows on the screen. Just a guess.
 

KK4JUG

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
3,103
Location
GA, AL, TX, OK, KS, AR, NC, or MI
Are you sure the radio is getting enough amperage to both run the radio and charge the battery? And, just because the power supply says 3 amps or 4 amps or whatever, doesn't mean that's what's really being delivered.
 

nessnet

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
440
Location
Kenmore, WA
This is normal behavior - or at least something isn't broken..
Anytime you get a low voltage warning, this selection is switched off, requiring it to be turned back on.
 

WeBeCinYa

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415
Location
NC
Interesting on this being designed in software to do this. Thanks for helping me keep my sanity as I was going nuts knowing I set it to enable.

And for reference I am using the stock power adapter and wire.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

SteveSimpkin

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
849
Location
Lancaster, CA
Interesting on this being designed in software to do this. Thanks for helping me keep my sanity as I was going nuts knowing I set it to enable.
And for reference I am using the stock power adapter and wire.
It is possible that your factory cable had a poor connection a few times or it may be wearing out. Over time the strands that make up the wires in the cable can start to break, one by one. This increases the resistance of the cable which drops more voltage under load and delivers less voltage to the SDS100.
 

WeBeCinYa

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415
Location
NC
I usually listen until it’s low battery so that likely explains it. I just picked up a new 6ft usb cable from amazon (someone here recommended) and it’s great not being stranded to that short factory one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

caldwest

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
124
Location
Charleston, SC
I’ve noticed that the setting on my SDS100 for charging while listening keeps going to “disable” occasionally. I have set this feature to enable and it usually stays enabled but then I’ll go plug it it’s and notice that the light doesn’t turn on indicating charging. I have to go into settings again and enable. Any ideas why this setting changes by itself?

My SDS100 has also had this same issue . . . maybe every 20 charges or so. Not a problem to reset, just an annoyance.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

WeBeCinYa

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415
Location
NC
Something else, WeBeCinYa, you might consider a second battery and a separate charger. It's one of the smartest things I did for the SDS100.
I use the small battery pack, never swap it out. The P2 system I listen to does well for 6-8 hrs on one charge. Can’t stand look of the larger battery.
Plus if I’m home the 536 is on, in the car I have a 110 outlet for usb charger.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

trentbob

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
2,021
Location
Bristol, Pa.
I’ve noticed that the setting on my SDS100 for charging while listening keeps going to “disable” occasionally. I have set this feature to enable and it usually stays enabled but then I’ll go plug it it’s and notice that the light doesn’t turn on indicating charging. I have to go into settings again and enable. Any ideas why this setting changes by itself?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Not to get real complicated here and introduce new issues or problems but... I have the large battery,
I don't use the SDS 100 in a portable application that much but I still do it on and off a couple times a week. My mot gives me the volume punch I need in a portable situation.

When I do discharge the battery all the way to the 3.5 which is the default I shut the radio off right away and hook it up to the wall wart that came with the radio that should be supplying 2.1. I also have other sources of 2.1 but don't use them for the SDS 100. I have OCD hahaha.

I usually run the radio while it's charging but sometimes let it charge for 2 or 3 hours with the radio off then turn it on. It makes no difference in my case, the end result is it records 4.21 with a green light and when I unplug it I always gets a value of 4.12 and that's where I begin my trip down to 3.5... however most of the time I go down to about 3.8. Then I turn off the charge while on option and when I turn the radio off, I unplug the wort from the wall.

I mainly use the 100 as a base application and it usually has a battery reading of 3.5 to 3.8 and it may stay there for several weeks before I do a mobile application with a full charge.

Just sharing my experience. If I had my druthers I would just slap in some double A's but the radio is too sophisticated and requires too much power to make that possible..
 

WeBeCinYa

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
415
Location
NC
I think I have mine set at 3.2 for low battery alert, is that too low?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

trentbob

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
2,021
Location
Bristol, Pa.
Who knows? It's probably no different than repeatedly pressing enter when you get a low battery warning at 3.5. At some point I guess you might do damage to the SD card? I just go with the default on this one.

You know that low battery warning always goes off at the exact time you need the radio the most. Hahaha.
 
Last edited:

racing1

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
410
I usually listen until it’s low battery so that likely explains it. I just picked up a new 6ft usb cable from amazon (someone here recommended) and it’s great not being stranded to that short factory one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Link for the cable?

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
 

N0GTG

Scanner programmer since 1977
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
375
Location
Denver, Colorado
I had trouble with mine disabling simultaneous charging in the car, but when I switched from an aftermarket USB cable to the OEM (original equipt mfr) cable, that solved the problem. Apparently some lighter gauge cables have too much voltage drop to deliver the full charging current.
 

racing1

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
410
I had trouble with mine disabling simultaneous charging in the car, but when I switched from an aftermarket USB cable to the OEM (original equipt mfr) cable, that solved the problem. Apparently some lighter gauge cables have too much voltage drop to deliver the full charging current.
Where did you get a new OEM cable?

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
 

captainmax1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
524
Location
Florida Keys
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top