SDS100/SDS200: Setting up an SDS200 to "roam" on a trunking system?

Motoflightmedic

Premium Subscriber
I would like to setup my SDS200 to roam kinda like a radio does on a system. Is it possible to set it up in a way that it only listens to the site you are closest to? Like a radio does when it affiliates with a site and if you move have it lock on to a new site as you travel? I have read up on the GPS feature and i have the GPS antenna for my scanner. the one thing I'm not wanting it to do is scan all of the VHF UHF stuff that may be licensed close to where i may be. I am only wanting to monitor the trunked system and only monitor the site i am receiving the best signal from. I am somewhat familiar with the sentinel software but i am not an expert yet. I have figured out how to make it scan only one site at home and it works great. I would just like to figure out how to make it change automatically as i travel.

drdispatch

What's the frequency, Kenneth?
Premium Subscriber
@nessnet gave as good an answer as you can get.
i would also make a suggestion:
Don't try to limit your scanning to just one site. (Using location control will scan several within your range settings.) If there are no user radios affiliated with the one site you are monitoring, you will not hear traffic. And if that site happens to go down, or switches into site trunking mode, you're deaf.

phask

Premium Subscriber
Uniden will never default to "the best signal". As others said, create a list, use GPS, set range for what works best.
And may need to tweak range for each site.

Randyk4661

Premium Subscriber
As others have said you will need to modify each site with GPS location and area coverage with the area they cover (they can overlap). These settings are different from the TG GPS settings. You need to do the GPS settings for both. Also set the scanner range setting low, ( I use zero) if you don't the GPS settings for the site and TG's you set up won't matter.

blackbelter