Shelby Co P25 System

Status
Not open for further replies.

highmaster2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
64
Location
Cropwell, Alabama
Have a new TRX-1. Imported the ShelCo system from RR via EZScan. Shows 5 152.XXX freqs on the system. Still hear nothing. What am I missing? I show the "S" indicator when scanning the system but no "T" indicator. I may have just answered my own question. I am 14 miles east of the 280 intersection at Harpersville on 231. Before I retired, had the old ShelCo SO freq in my radios. Could hit their repeater all day long with a handheld from here. Maybe I'm just not in a good spot to hear the P25 system even with an outdoor antenna?

Saw something about correcting the bandplan for some scanners to use a 150.000 base freq. If necessary, how do I accomplish that with the TRX-1?

Thanks for any assistance.
 

Julian1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 13, 2002
Messages
836
Location
Birmingham, AL
I set mine per Radio Reference Shelby Co Trunked VHF. I live near Chelsea and it works fine.
It is P-25 Phase 2 digital format.

Good luck!
 

highmaster2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
64
Location
Cropwell, Alabama
I checked and it is set to Auto Fill.

I mentioned that someone advised that the base freq may need to be set to 150.000 with a 5.000 Step. When I set it to Custom, I see that the base freq is 150.000 and the Step is 5.000. Does that mean that it would be set that way IF I used Custom, or is it showing me what is already set before any editing?

Thanks!
 

makoola

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
4
Location
East Shelby County
I recently imported the Shelby County data via RR into a BCD325P2 using Proscan. I am down the road in Vincent and receiving. Reception is not perfect, though. I hope you have found your problem.
 

highmaster2

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
64
Location
Cropwell, Alabama
Haven't found the problem yet, but I am learning more about it. I think it's just my location. Have been using a small RS discone set right at the roof line. About to put up a Tram 1411 discone several feet above the roof and see if that helps.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
75
Location
Birmingham, Alabama
For what it's worth, The VHF system they are currently using is slated to be changed over to the 700Mhz AFRN system in the near future. Seems like a huge waste of tax money building the VHF system when the AFRN system was already in the works for the state. This MAY have changed since I learned of the change a couple months ago, but I doubt it. You never know!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top