Ship to Shore (telephone)

Status
Not open for further replies.

detective1750

Good evening, I purchased a Uniden SDS200 and while scanning the full database I frequency stopped on the Maritime Operations.
Specifically it is 84RX- Ship/shore (telephone). I do remember listening to phone conversations from ship to shore back in the day on my Uniden 800XLT.

Are these frequencies still active?
And would anyone know if it is part of the NXDN Band?

Thank you in advance for any and all responses.

trentbob

W3BUX- Bucks County, PA
Premium Subscriber
You know that's a good question? I was a professional Clam Digger in the Great South Bay on Long Island, New York while I was in college starting 1971. I had moved from the Philly area to go to Long Island University. I supplemented my income in the summer by being a licensed Bayman during the day and a bartender at night. The age was 18 for bartending. I was also a news photographer stringer for Newsday newspaper. No cell phones of course in 1971, while I got my undergraduate and graduate degree ending in 1978.

I always used Marine radio to make phone calls from my boat. You had to be registered so that you could be billed. Of course the radios were licensed then, I was WM6934, It was not like a regular phone, you had to say over when you were finished speaking. But you could actually call any phone number you wanted through the Marine operator and I used it a lot and it was expensive. That's my last remembrance of marine phone calls.

If I had to guess and I am, the service is still available to ships at sea who are far out of range of any cell phone communication and don't use satellite communication. I did used to use the Marine operator all the time in the early 70s.

I look forward to your other replies oh, that was a long time ago.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Good evening, I purchased a Uniden SDS200 and while scanning the full database I frequency stopped on the Maritime Operations.