short tower vs higher tower and LONG ladder line

Catbrain

I am just beginning into ham radio. just got a Kenwood 830s. (my old school dream radio). It was restored before i got it.
Have to collect some more accessorie goodies yet- like matcher-tuner, external speaker- maybe a comet analyzer. ect.

My house has a steep hill right beside it that blocks the south-east direction. Can't even get broadcast radio stations.
However the hill is about 75-100 feet tall. From up there i can see the horizon for 360 degrees. So from a line-of-sight standpoint -- it could be great. A neighbor gave me 4 sections of a bottom hinged tower. So it could be 40 feet plus a pipe up top - maybe 8-10 feet more. i see that open wire ladder line looks like the way to go for longer coax runs. if I try to put the tower up on top of the hill--- it looks like I will have about 300-400 feet to the feed point to run the ladder line. i have yet to measure the distance with my rangefinder.

My question is-- is that long a run - with open 4 inch ladder line-- will there be enough loss to nullify the effort of getting the antenna above the local terrain ? Should I try to find an on-line loss calculator for ladder line and try to put a number on the losses ?

also---i got a couple rolls of insulated # 20 solid copper. (door bell wire) Do I need to go fatter conductor for a long run ?
I see some people are using # 16 for their ladder line. is there enough current that # 20 will be making significant losses ?
do I need to go to 18 or 16 for 4 inch ladder line ? ( I expect sometime later- down the road- to try an amplifier---if I can afford one or build one from scratch--- so there could be more current and voltage later on--)
I expect to start out with a resonant dipole for 80, 40, 20 meters ect---

Thanks ahead of time for any thoughts. Im just starting in this so I am trying to be a sponge. :cool: for knowledge.

MUTNAV

Premium Subscriber
I thought someone would reply by now...
Just some thoughts....