shreveport la. police

Status
Not open for further replies.

slayer816

Premium Subscriber
i dont live there just there the metal body of the car may be some of my problem. can you recomend an anttena?

I run portable antennas in my vehicle with good results for LWIN. A SpectrumForce 800 in the back glass works well for me. They make both SMA & BNC versions. HP2/SpectrumForce combo usually gets 20mi (limited by non-external non-mobile antenna) but my SDS100/Remtronics antenna gets 23-25 sometimes more with less height and more vehicle surrounding the radio.

You can always get a better antenna, but a newer radio on these digital systems will run circles around the older ones. Just the difference between the SDS100 and 436HP on the same system - same site is astounding. Of course antennas are cheaper so I would start there.

IcomIcR20

Premium Subscriber
i travel many states for a living . i use pro 106 radios. i have not heard any 700 or 800 p25 towers over 15 miles. i have base radios at home , same range.
It depends on the system and terrain. I can get some 800 MHz P25 sites from 60 - 70 miles away on my HT. Granted, they are on high mountains but I was still impressed.

INDY72

Monitoring since 1982, using radios since 1991.
Premium Subscriber
Are all the towers the exact same freqs, exact same broadcasts, exact same times? If no then it is not simulcast. The OLD Caddo Parish 800 MHz Motorola SmartZone is a simulcast. Have they fully converted this into a LWIN site? As far as I know this has not yet happened though they have licensed for the P25 upgrade on it. The 700 MHz sites are all stand alones.

INDY72

Premium Subscriber