Simple ADSB decoding on a PC ... question

below500kc

Hello, I'd like to ask a question concerning ADSB decoding on a desktop pc. First, some background. I'm not a newbie at this, but I've been out of the "game" for several years. I was decoding ADSB using a Linux laptop running dump1090, cabled to a rtl-sdr underneath a 1/4 wave GP up about 25 ft. I did well with decoding 'craft and was uploading to ADSBexchange.

Here's the question: Condition 1... now, due to my internet limitations, I cannot upload data to any server. Besides, I don't want to upload but simply want to see 'craft on my pc monitor, superimposed on some sort of map program. I can do windows or Linux, no problem. I don't want to pay to use a map program. That's all I want to do... just watch the 'craft I'm able to decode with my own hardware/setup. Yes, I know I can just monitor planes online but I want to do this with my own equipment, not necessarily using the 'net at all.

Can I do this or not? I have antenna, cables, rtl-sdr, desktop pc... just need some advice ... thanks.

Ray

dave3825

Premium Subscriber
I do this on windows pc using dump1090 and virtual radar software Getting about 120 mile range using a 1/4 wave 800mhz antenna.

morfis

If you still have your old setup then use that. Add tar1090 for the web interface (it's what the adsbexchange one is based on after swapping away from VRS?). Remove the code that was feeding to third party if you explicitly don't want to send data to anyone else.
If you don't want to use the old laptop you could acomplish the same for little cost by using a single board computer like a raspberry pi (even an older one will do if it's only ads-b you want).

below500kc