• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Simple Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

rochele1

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
35
Hi ,

when i put my motorola radio close to my computer it has effect on monitor and mainboard , is there any material or something to protect my PC , imagine i must put the radio beside computer and there's no more option
 

kb2ztx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
502
Location
South West Virginia
Where is the antenna ? Antenna should be out side and not next to the radio. As long as your antenna is mounted properly and the correct antenna you should see no issues on your computer. I actually have an APRS computer with the a radio mounted in the CD slot with no issues to either.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
10,929
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
When transmitting, or receiving?
When transmitting, this is understandable. The RF from the transmitter gets into the PC and monitor and will cause issues. Better shielding on cables and housings can help, but it would be difficult to fully eliminate. Best solution is to not transmit when close to your computer.

If it's when it is receiving, then likely the local oscillator frequency is leaking out and getting into the PC. I've never had a radio do this while receiving.
 

rochele1

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2013
Messages
35
Antenna is about 2 meters far from PC ,
and my question is that what kind of shielding i have to look for ? , is there any specific name or expression ?
 

popnokick

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Messages
1,904
Location
Northeast PA
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 7_0_6 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/537.51.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0 Mobile/11B651 Safari/9537.53)

Get the antenna installed OUTside the building you are in and well away from the computer.
 
Last edited:

kb2ztx

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
502
Location
South West Virginia
What he said. Antenna needs to be out side the building and not near you or your computer. Improper antenna installation will cause not only issues with nearby electronics equipment but also damage to the radio. My guess is the Magnetic mount you are using needs replaced with a real base radio antenna on your building/
 

MTS2000des

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
2,941
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
Not trying to be sarcastic, but this is why a professional should be involved with installing high powered radios. RF power levels generated by mobile and fixed base radios can be dangerous to not just other equipment but people as well should they come in contact with the antenna.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top