• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Site Number

Status
Not open for further replies.

TXEMT

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
273
Location
San Antonio
Had an MPA programmed for recive on the City of Live Oak system here in Bexar county and the radio has the NC on the top line saying no control channel found comes on as soon as the radio is turned on. Fequencies and LCN's are correct so I was told by my programmer that the site number might be wrong, what is the best way to deterime if the site number on the database here is correct, any help?
 

ElroyJetson

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,506
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
Well, it DOES matter. Get the wrong site number and nothing happens.

According to the database here at RR, Live Oak's site has an ID of 011.

You DID think to look there, didn't you? ;)


But is it RIGHT? Someone in the San Antonio area who's scanning the system would be able to verify it.
I'm not even in Texas.



Elroy
 

TXEMT

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
273
Location
San Antonio
Of course first place i looked was the database, also the highlighted freq. for the control channel is not the freq that is the control channel, does that make a difference in the programming? I don't have any software to see if the site number is correct, just wanted to post in here to make sure it was not a problem with the radio or incorrect info in the database.
 

ElroyJetson

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,506
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
Just to confirm...

It's an EDACS system...or are you looking for a different system?

In an EDACS system, you must enter EVERY channel shown in the channel list, in the exact order shown,
which should be in the correct Logical Channel Number, or LCN.

My guess is that you're more familiar with Motorola programming than EDACS programming.

With Motorola programming, only the highlighted control channels are entered, and their order
doesn't matter. With EDACS systems, you've got to enter them all, in order.


Plus, doesn't the San Antonio system use ProVoice? And haven't they gone through some recent changes,
maybe even to ESK? If so, you won't hear them if you can't compensate for ESK, by using the ESK version
of etrunker.



Elroy
 

TXEMT

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
273
Location
San Antonio
I know the basics about EDACS programming, Freq. must be put in order and lcn's have to be in the correct order, I am asking about the Live Oak site, it is a standard site not networked with the provoice City and county site, all talkgroups are analog except for one or two back channels, it is not usin esk that is only on the San Antonio/Bexar County system. I was asking when you do program and EDACS system and the freq are all in order as well as the lcn's do you have to label the control channel freq and if so if you label the wrong one as the control channel could that have caused the radio not to find it
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,144
As long as all the Freqs are right & in proper LCN order the control channel can be on any one & it will find it. The site# has to be correct as the other guy said. It will be between 1 & 31, but it has to match for a real EDACS radio.
 

ElroyJetson

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,506
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
In short, there is no need (or way) to label a channel as a control channel, not on an EDACS radio, anyway.

Just enter the channels in correct logical channel order and get the site number right.


Worst case scenario: Clone the set 31 times and change the site number on each one of them,
then scroll through them until you get a lock on the control channel. Now you know what the
correct site number is.


Elroy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top