So can you really program a scanner by hand?

Status
Not open for further replies.

K9GTJ

Member
Joined
May 20, 2006
Messages
616
Location
Kokomo, IN
Yes! I received my new BCT15 today and while I have the Butel software for it, I decided to give it a go by hand. I entered a 10 channel EDACS system in about 5 minutes. (Of course no talkgroups...)

Maybe I will do it all by hand just for fun. :)
 

KCChiefs9690

CQ DX
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Messages
1,795
Location
Lewis Center, OH
kokomo1 said:
Yes! I received my new BCT15 today and while I have the Butel software for it, I decided to give it a go by hand. I entered a 10 channel EDACS system in about 5 minutes. (Of course no talkgroups...)

Maybe I will do it all by hand just for fun. :)
I can program handhelds by hand, but count me out when it comes to bases and mobiles. They wear out my hand so much... :)
 

UPMan

In Memoriam
Uniden Representative
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,296
Location
Arlington, TX
When the PRO-96 was in testing, I spent about 8 hours programming it by hand (PC software didn't exist for it until months after its release). One of the engineers asked to use it for a quick test (I should mention that I was with RS at the time). The test should not have in any way required the complete reset of the unit. Of course, he did a complete reset of the unit.

The second time it only took about 6 hours, and I never, ever let the engineer near it again. :*)

I can program a bit faster on the BCD396T / BCD996T / BCT15 / BR330T, but doing it by hand is still very tedious (but good to know how to do).
 

KR4BD

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2001
Messages
562
Location
Lexington, KY
I have "hand programmed" the following trunkers: Prp-90, Pro-92, Pro-94, Par-2050 and Pro-2052. The easiest (for me anyway) of these was the Pro-94. I can program that scanner virtually blindfolded. The worst (for me) of this group is the Pro-92. I find this scanner to be a nightmare to hand program. So, yes, you can program trunktrackers "the old fashioned way" if you have patience.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
0
Location
Virginia
Hi,
I have programmed every single radio except for my 396T by hand, this is over 50 different radios in quite a few years.

Now I do my 396T via my pc but I still can do it by hand if I ever need to.

Paul
VK7FPGB
www.scanningtasmania.org
 

scanner92us

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
109
Location
Somerset PA
KR4BD said:
I have "hand programmed" the following trunkers: Prp-90, Pro-92, Pro-94, Par-2050 and Pro-2052. The easiest (for me anyway) of these was the Pro-94. I can program that scanner virtually blindfolded. The worst (for me) of this group is the Pro-92. I find this scanner to be a nightmare to hand program. So, yes, you can program trunktrackers "the old fashioned way" if you have patience.
I have been the opposite from you. I found my pro-92 easier to program than my brother's pro-94. I must've read the manual 1000 times before I got it right.
 

bwhite

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
1,407
Location
Balto/Carroll, MD
If you are of the type where you
1. know what you want to monitor and
2. you know how you want the banks and freq's set up and
3. tend to not want to change things around much or at all
then do it by hand. It is not worth the learning curve on the software for a 1 or 2 time event.
If you are of the type where you are constantly adding/changing/rearranging....get software.
 

gmclam

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
5,818
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
Pro-92

scanner92us said:
I have been the opposite from you. I found my pro-92 easier to program than my brother's pro-94. I must've read the manual 1000 times before I got it right.
I found the PRO-92 to be "very easy" to program. I programmed all 500 channels, plus two banks of talkgroups (one has 100 IDs) all with 12 character thought out alpha tags all by hand. I only recently acquired a cable and s/w from here and used it to make a backup of what I've programmed.

The key is to first plan out what you want to enter and where (especially the alpha tags). Then the programming is a repetative process of reading what you've planned.

Best,
George
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,514
Location
West Michigan
Using Uniden Dynamic Functions with systems in place of banks/chanels, the most time eater part is assigning the alpha tags, but then you can do that from the available software after the fact. System attributes, frequencies, LCN's (if needed), and talkgroups are easy to assign. Even the quick key assignment is not too bad.
 

ampulman

Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
915
Location
South Jersey
My decision to purchase a 396T was made over a period of a month or so. During that time, I read and re-read the manual (.pdf) over and over again (skipped some parts with each re-read) until I placed by order.

When I finally received it, I manually programmed 4 systems right out of the box.

Haven't looked back yet.

AM
 

ctrabs74

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
799
Location
California, PA
Once I programmed a few systems into my 396, it got easier with each new system that I'd subsequently add. When I had my Pro-95, describing the process as "tedious" would be an understatement. I prefer programming manually as opposed to using a software program or file since I know what I want to enter into a particular system (and, seeing as RR is my primary source, I know the info will be relatively accurate).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top