• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

So I bit the bullet and got a Lincoln II+

nmelfi

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
737
Location
Travelers Rest S.C.
I did it finally, got the radio today, unboxed it to make sure it worked and it did. No boxing it back up with my RM203P and sending it to Black Ops for a 11 meter mod and a tune and peak with the Italy RM 203P. Studying for a general license and taking the test in a couple weeks.
 

nmelfi

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
737
Location
Travelers Rest S.C.
It will be done at Black Ops in Maryland. It will be modded to 11 meters and tuned to work with the RM Italy 203p. He really fine tunes the modulation. He can be found on YouTube.
 

N1EXA

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2022
Messages
68
Location
Acushnet Heights New Bedford MA
The 11 Meter mod is adding a resistor and a few Key bumps on the front Panel


It a DIgital processed radio there are no big pots to crank on inside - Just run a power Mic.

The RF power knob is on the front just turn it down to a watt and your linear should be happy

The big thing for CB and 10 Meters is a good Antenna and Propagation~

Good luck on the Ham Test !

Pete N1EXA
 
Last edited:

columbas

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 3, 2013
Messages
177
Congratulations on going to get your ham license. I have a GENERAL ham license. I love doing hf I do not know the terrain you live in but I live in a very mountainous area. For me I have had the Antron 99 and replaced it with the IMAX 2000 with the ground plane kit. In my opinion the IMAX 2000 with the GPK out performs the Antron 99. Now I am suggesting either to you because either will cover 10 / 11 / 12 meter with little SWR and no adjustment's are needed. Both antenna's have built in lightning arrestor's built in with the coil inside the antenna If you purchase either one when you get it get delivered you purchase a can of clear coat and spray the fiber glass so it won't splinter over the years. Do they last a long time , I have had mine up for about 15 years now with no splintering .The only thing I did different than other's is I took a 102 inch steel whip cut it the exact same length as the top section of the antenna so I would not have to worry about the top breaking in very high winds. I have Never had the top to break even in 60 mph wind's. I hope this information will help you. P. S. (Both antenna's are easy light and quick to install ) . Have a Blessed Day
 

nmelfi

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2011
Messages
737
Location
Travelers Rest S.C.
I am using a Sirio 5/8 GPE. I have it mounted 20 feet from my second story deck. My elavation is fine, but am in a valley. Might need to put a tower up, but for now it's all I have to work with.
 

N1EXA

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2022
Messages
68
Location
Acushnet Heights New Bedford MA
Negative, there are pots just not big ones. and modulation can be adjusted.
I see 1 pot VR106 as a Modulation Balance Thats it ?

The guys over at DX Home talk about a swing kit - Does this guy add a swing kit in the Lincoln 2 for added audio control ?

Looks like the Mod is to run AM Mode under 1 watt to the linear ?

Hey I found the service maual too on line- See what you can adjust !

President Lincoln II - Service manual (radiomanual.info)

Hey Slowmover I see you with a thumbs up over at DX Home !



1659726471657.png
 
Last edited:
Top