Software For Displaying & Controlling SDS 200 From pc Desktop ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BOBRR

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
1,384
Location
Boston, MA
Hello,

Eyesight a bit poor now.

Have a Uniden SDS 200.

Any software out there, free or paid, that would enable
one to show the entire SDS 200 Display on one's pc Desktop, and also control the unit from there ?

Would sure help.

Thanks,
Bob
 

JimD56

KO9JAD/Fire Lieutenant/Paramedic
Feed Provider
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
573
Location
Davie, FL (Miami/Fort Lauderdale Metro)
Proscan is the absolute BEST. $50 2 PC's lifetime license and you can try the full version for FREE for 30 days
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,977
Proscan is definitely what you need for large screen viewing. Using the webserver function in Proscan, open up a browser on the same computer or any other computer connected to the internet and enlarge the browser window to suit your needs. It is fully controlable from the web browser with your mouse.

Here is a pic of my SDS200 completely filling the screen of a 27" LG monitor, complete control is available with just the mouse. The SDS200 representation on the screen here is approx 23" wide by 12" tall. Easily viewable from 15 feet away, and controlable at that distance with a wireless mouse.

You could even connect your computer's monitor output to view your SDS200 a 60" TV on your wall.

85724

.
 

BOBRR

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2004
Messages
1,384
Location
Boston, MA
Hi Folks,

Thanks for help.

I a a Reg. user of ProScan. Using vers. 16.3 (W10)
I have it pulled up on my desktop monitor, but cannot see any way of getting to the scanner image/control.
Just doesn't seem to be any tab for doing so.

As usual, I'm sure i am missing something.
That old age problem, i guess.

Hints:
Radio now shows: USB Mass Storage
pc is connected via a hard wired Ethernet cable to Comcast Modem

On starting, pc screen always show
Unable to open Comm Port
Check if other software is using Port ?

What do I do now ?
So, any hints on getting to it, and activating it would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
10,242
Location
Macomb Twp, Michigan
You can enlarge the display of any thing on your computer screen by lowering the resolution. It's confusing but the higher the resolution the smaller the image and the lower the resolution the larger the image on the screen.

ie:

1920 X 1080 DPI will make the scanner software image smaller

1024 X 780 DPI will make it much later

640 X 480 DPI will make it probably too big to even use.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,977
What do I do now ?
So, any hints on getting to it, and activating it would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
Bob
Here are some very detailed instructions to set up your SDS200 on Proscan's webserver function from Bob's (Proscan) website. This was actually written for the BCD536HP with the WiFi dongle, so for the beginning of these instructions, just use the SDS200's LAN settings menu to set the IP info in the scanner instead of using the dongle instructions.


.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,977
You can enlarge the display of any thing on your computer screen by lowering the resolution. It's confusing but the higher the resolution the smaller the image and the lower the resolution the larger the image on the screen.

ie:

1920 X 1080 DPI will make the scanner software image smaller

1024 X 780 DPI will make it much later

640 X 480 DPI will make it probably too big to even use.
Sounds like he may have already tried that:


.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
10,242
Location
Macomb Twp, Michigan
Sounds like he may have already tried that:


.
It definitely works, I think he's just looking for a different way of doing it.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
10,242
Location
Macomb Twp, Michigan
Proscan is definitely what you need for large screen viewing. Using the webserver function in Proscan, open up a browser on the same computer or any other computer connected to the internet and enlarge the browser window to suit your needs. It is fully controlable from the web browser with your mouse.

Here is a pic of my SDS200 completely filling the screen of a 27" LG monitor, complete control is available with just the mouse. The SDS200 representation on the screen here is approx 23" wide by 12" tall. Easily viewable from 15 feet away, and controlable at that distance with a wireless mouse.

You could even connect your computer's monitor output to view your SDS200 a 60" TV on your wall.
This works "if" he's using the web server, but I think he's using a USB direct connect access.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,977
This works "if" he's using the web server, but I think he's using a USB direct connect access.
Also using ethernet, so web server should be easy to set up following the PDF from the Proscan website by connecting the SDS200 to the modem also.

pc is connected via a hard wired Ethernet cable to Comcast Modem
.
 

belvdr

Active Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,423
Also using ethernet, so web server should be easy to set up following the PDF from the Proscan website by connecting the SDS200 to the modem also.
Most modems only have one port, unless @BOBRR was referring to his router/switch.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
5,977
Hints:
Radio now shows: USB Mass Storage

Thanks,
Bob
If you prefer, you can also use the webserver function of Proscan with USB instead of WiFi/LAN connections. The USB setup requires the SDS200 to be in Serial Mode (not mass storage). The USB connection only carries the scanner data, so you will also need to connect an audio cable from the SDS200 to the sound card in the computer to get the audio output (you may also need to use a ground loop isolator in line with the audio cable to get a clean audio signal).

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07XJC1DWB/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The connection from the SDS200 to your computer with an ethernet (WiFi/LAN) setup is easier, and less cabling. It also provides a much better audio signal, and that one ethernet connection carries both the scanner data to setup the SDS200 image and controls in the web server, and also carries the audio.

.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top