• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Some PPS settings that are just not clear

minasha

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
472
Location
NYC
I have a few questions on some PPS settings I don't understand:
1-In D-5 I am entering a P25 conventional channel since the channel has no TG in the P25CTGID do i leave it "no setting"?
2-In D-6 setting up a zone for this channel do I need to check enable repeater mode? (With DMR channels I do need to check it)
3-For the same P25 conventional channel in D-6 zone setup do I need to put in a NAC code? If I don't know it and I want to get all nacs availlable do i set it
to 0xF7E or FFF or leave it at 0.
Thanks for the help
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,120
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
1-In D-5 I am entering a P25 conventional channel since the channel has no TG in the P25CTGID do i leave it "no setting"?
There's always a TGID. If you don't know what it is, create a wildcard group with P25C TGID of 65535 (decimal)

2-In D-6 setting up a zone for this channel do I need to check enable repeater mode? (With DMR channels I do need to check it)
If it's a repeater (it probably is), check the box.

3-For the same P25 conventional channel in D-6 zone setup do I need to put in a NAC code? If I don't know it and I want to get all nacs availlable do i set it
to 0xF7E or FFF or leave it at 0.
If you don't know the NAC, 0xF7E will act as a wildcard.
 

minasha

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
472
Location
NYC
There's always a TGID. If you don't know what it is, create a wildcard group with P25C TGID of 65535 (decimal)



If it's a repeater (it probably is), check the box.



If you don't know the NAC, 0xF7E will act as a wildcard.
For the NAC how can I enter 0xF7E it's in hex it won't accept an x
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
1,120
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
"Repeater" mode has no meaning in the context of P25
I was wondering what it would actually do, but don't know the P25 protocol(s) enough to say that it doesn't apply. If it doesn't, it's a bit curious that the PPS help specifically mentions P25 Conventional:

repeater-mode.PNG
 

minasha

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
472
Location
NYC
I was wondering what it would actually do, but don't know the P25 protocol(s) enough to say that it doesn't apply. If it doesn't, it's a bit curious that the PPS help specifically mentions P25 Conventional:

View attachment 91395
It says available in conventional P25 thay would be "the context of P25" right?
 

Webodisk

Mike
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
1,076
Location
Virginia Beach,VA
Tried it on P25 conventional, I did not notice a difference, DMR no receive when not checked if the frequency was a repeater
 
Top