Sound on feed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

thinder

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Mar 12, 2007
Messages
98
Location
Silverdale WA
sound on feed

I had that same sound on one of my feeds and it turned out to be my wireless router was too close to the scanner. if you can move the router a bit away from scanner or its antenna will probably clear it up. Good luck
 

daneg

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
308
Location
Lancaster County pa
Do you have priority enabled on the scanner?

Mike
Nope it's constantly on this channel.


I had that same sound on one of my feeds and it turned out to be my wireless router was too close to the scanner. if you can move the router a bit away from scanner or its antenna will probably clear it up. Good luck
The router is in the other room so it's not near it.
 

talkpair

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
956
Location
Clinton County, MO
I noticed that after a transmission ends, it takes a few seconds for the 'thump' to resume.

Are you actually scanning more than one channel, or do you have it locked onto a single frequency?

Sound cards will magnify a lot of noises you probably wouldn't hear if you were listening to the scanner's internal speaker.

If possible, try to use the very minimum gain on either the MIC or LINE-IN settings in your mixer, and adjust your scanner's audio for proper levels.
Some noises, such as an AC hum remain at the same level at the scanner's speaker no matter where the volume control is set, so a low scanner volume setting combined with a high MIC or LINE-IN mixer setting will result in an amplification of the AC hum.
The fix would be to raise the scanner volume, and lower either the MIC or LINE-IN mixer setting.

If the resulting audio is too hot, you may need to switch from the MIC jack to the LINE-IN jack on the sound card.


Good Luck.
 

daneg

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
308
Location
Lancaster County pa
I noticed that after a transmission ends, it takes a few seconds for the 'thump' to resume.

Are you actually scanning more than one channel, or do you have it locked onto a single frequency?

Sound cards will magnify a lot of noises you probably wouldn't hear if you were listening to the scanner's internal speaker.

If possible, try to use the very minimum gain on either the MIC or LINE-IN settings in your mixer, and adjust your scanner's audio for proper levels.
Some noises, such as an AC hum remain at the same level at the scanner's speaker no matter where the volume control is set, so a low scanner volume setting combined with a high MIC or LINE-IN mixer setting will result in an amplification of the AC hum.
The fix would be to raise the scanner volume, and lower either the MIC or LINE-IN mixer setting.

If the resulting audio is too hot, you may need to switch from the MIC jack to the LINE-IN jack on the sound card.


Good Luck.
Thanks!

It's locked onto a single frequency. I believe it's in the line in port. I'll have to try turning the volume up on the scanner and then lowering the mixer. I'll do that later tonight when I get home.

Thanks again!
 

ScanYak

Member
Feed Provider
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
143
Location
Eastern Washington
Try this theory, I have some scanners that when set on manual (not scanning) goes into power saving mode and begins to make a subtle pulsing sound. Try putting in two frequencies the same and scan just those two.
 

jasonpeoria911

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
516
Location
Peoria, IL
Just getting caught up on the message threads. Anyways, if you havn't figured it out already, the thump could be coming from another nearby scanner. I had the problem where if I had the same frequency programmed in 2 BCD396T scanners, whenever 1 would scan, it would cause a thumping noise on the 2nd scanner and vice versa. When I locked out the frequency on 1 scanner, the problem went away.

Jason
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top