• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Spectra Programming Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfn002

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,142
Location
Bryan, Texas
I recently acquired a Spectra Low-Power VHF from eBay. I have the software to program it, and built a cable following the schematics on BatLabs. However, when I connect it, I get either a "BUSY LINE LOCKED" or "POWER FAULT" error on the RSS. The DATA light on the RIB will flash briefly before the power error appears. In addition, the display on the radio will say "PROGRAM" when I try to connect. I've quadruple-checked all of the wires in the cable and made sure they were going to the right places. Everything seems OK.
 

jhooten

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
1,503
Location
Paige, Republic of Texas
What speed is the computer you are running the RSS on?
Are you running in a DOS window on a Windows PC?

RSS needs to run in true DOS on a slow machine.
 

Zack08

Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
97
Believe it or not, I use a Pentium III with no problems (in true DOS, of course).
 

mfn002

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,142
Location
Bryan, Texas
I was able to program (successfully, several times) my GP300s in the DOS window mode. I do not think it has much to do with that (if it helps, the computer I'm using to do this is a 2000 Sony Vaio PCG-F610). The guy who programmed my XTS uses a much-newer laptop to program all of the radios he services (including Motorola Visars). I had no real problems installing the program, and the only errors that seem to appear have to do with the serial bus connection.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
A dollar to a doughnut says your problem involves the use of non-Motorola RIB or cables. Spectras are finicky radios.

Are you aware of the necessity for supplying B+ to pin 5 of the DB-9 programming cable, in order to allow the Spectra to power up when attached to a RIB?
 

mfn002

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,142
Location
Bryan, Texas
A dollar to a doughnut says your problem involves the use of non-Motorola RIB or cables. Spectras are finicky radios.

Are you aware of the necessity for supplying B+ to pin 5 of the DB-9 programming cable, in order to allow the Spectra to power up when attached to a RIB?
I think that might be the problem...because I noted that it was not powering up solely on the RIB, and I have to use my power supply. I don't know much about these radios, so, at the risk of sounding insanely stupid, what is B+? If its for the ignition sense, I have that in the cable I made (I used the schematics from BatLabs). I forgot to mention it is a low-power VHF model with the head built in.
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,094
Location
Boston, MA
I think that might be the problem...because I noted that it was not powering up solely on the RIB, and I have to use my power supply. I don't know much about these radios, so, at the risk of sounding insanely stupid, what is B+? If its for the ignition sense, I have that in the cable I made (I used the schematics from BatLabs). I forgot to mention it is a low-power VHF model with the head built in.
B+ (in this context) is switchable 12VDC (nominal), which has to be supplied to the ignition sense pin (Pin 5 of the DB-9) in order for the Spectra to power up. You also have to have chassis power (the double plug/jack thing) hot.
 

mfn002

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,142
Location
Bryan, Texas
B+ (in this context) is switchable 12VDC (nominal), which has to be supplied to the ignition sense pin (Pin 5 of the DB-9) in order for the Spectra to power up. You also have to have chassis power (the double plug/jack thing) hot.
Got both of those hooked up every time I attempt to program it.

By the way, it is model number and ID number D43KMA7JA5BK.

I am bidding on an old 386 laptop. Should this work for programming?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top