Split antenna signal to 2 (or more) scanners

Status
Not open for further replies.

bibbles10504

Hi,

I have Discone antenna (link) connected to 50' RG8X coax cable (link) which is plugged into my scanner directly with an SO-239 to BNC adaptor (link). The antenna and current setup works great. I would like to set up another scanner and use the same antenna, so I have 2 (or more) scanners using the signal from the same antenna. Is there a way to split the signal from the antenna? If so, what hardware would I need?

I assume I just need a splitter and the right cables / ends? I'm new to the whole antenna thing (usually just use the antenna's that come with the scanner). So any help / specific product links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

dlwtrunked

Premium Subscriber
Put "multicoupler" in the search window at the top of this page and you find the numerous discussions on this that have appeared here.

TailGator911

Silent Key/KF4ANC
Anytime you split your signal with adapters and couplers you will be losing dbs to the scanner, along with the minimal loss per footage of your coax feed line. You can buy simple Y-couplers (CATV or others) and install one and if your local systems are very strong and the transmit towers are close you probably won't even notice the signal loss. If you want to minimize that signal loss to both scanners, you can invest in a Stridsberg 4-port multi-coupler (not sure if they make a 2-way) that is an amplified (requires AC voltage adapter, included) splitter. They are pricey but well-worth the dinero when it comes to maintaining good strong signal from your antenna to the radio. There are other brands, makes and models, but Stridsberg is generally considered the best quality by scanner enthusiasts. You can go cheap and hope for the best, or you can do it right and get r' done.

JD
kf4anc

bibbles10504