• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

ST 2 Scantenna Roof Mast

Status
Not open for further replies.

jd970

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
35
Location
CO
I just ordered the ST Scanenna off of ebay. I found some good reviews (from this site) and they're able to get higher frequencies. Plus for under $60 shipped, I couldn't go wrong.

Now I want to get the peices in place to mount it on my roof. (The neighbors are going to like this.) I'm in Northern Colorado so I have to deal with wind and snow.

Any suggestions?

Thx.
 

bagmouse7

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
205
Location
NC, USA
The last Scantenna I ordered came with the hardware required to mount the antenna on a pole. You don't really need a rotator for the Scantenna, so you could get by with a chimney mounted pole.
 

jd970

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
35
Location
CO
The only problem w/ my chimney is the location, between two massive trees.

I was thinking about mounting a pole on the other side of the house, but that's between two trees also.

Guess I could mount it on a pluming vent (seems like a bad idea).

The best spot I have is right in the middle of my roof. I searched for some solutions on the web, but the large amount of different options/antennas were a little mind boggling. Guess I’m looking for some simple kit, or ideas for actually mounting this on the top of my roof.


bagmouse7 said:
The last Scantenna I ordered came with the hardware required to mount the antenna on a pole. You don't really need a rotator for the Scantenna, so you could get by with a chimney mounted pole.
 

hsdtech

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
165
Location
S.E. LA
JD,

You could mount an antenna mast for the scantenna on your roof a couple of ways. If you have a chimney, R.S. sells chimney mounts for that very reason. They also sell Eve mounts to mount the mast to the eve of your house.
The most popular masts are 5ft. and 10ft. After mounting your mast to your roof just mount the scantenna onto the mast. Then route your coax to your radio.
Be sure to GROUND the antenna MAST pole. Use copper wire and attach one end to your mast and the other end to either a nearby cold water pipe or to a ground rod. If you don't have a ground, buy an 8ft. copper ground rod and pound it in the ground as close as you can to the mast as to make the copper ground wire as short as possible.

Good Luck.
 

hsdtech

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
165
Location
S.E. LA
jd970 said:
The only problem w/ my chimney is the location, between two massive trees.

I was thinking about mounting a pole on the other side of the house, but that's between two trees also.

Guess I could mount it on a pluming vent (seems like a bad idea).

The best spot I have is right in the middle of my roof. I searched for some solutions on the web, but the large amount of different options/antennas were a little mind boggling. Guess I’m looking for some simple kit, or ideas for actually mounting this on the top of my roof.

You could also go with a 30 foot telescoping "push up pole" mast that is sold at Lowes. It's made by Channel Master and is very reasonable at $44. It even includes 3 guy rings in case you need or want to use guy wires.
I use 2 of them and they really work great.
 

jd970

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
35
Location
CO
Thanks for all the info. I think I'll go with the one that mounts on the eve of the house, seems pretty straight forward.

Now pounding an 8' ground pole in to the ground here in Colorado should prove to be pretty interesting. I'll figure out a way to get it done.

Again, thx a ton for the input.


hsdtech said:
JD,

You could mount an antenna mast for the scantenna on your roof a couple of ways. If you have a chimney, R.S. sells chimney mounts for that very reason. They also sell Eve mounts to mount the mast to the eve of your house.
The most popular masts are 5ft. and 10ft. After mounting your mast to your roof just mount the scantenna onto the mast. Then route your coax to your radio.
Be sure to GROUND the antenna MAST pole. Use copper wire and attach one end to your mast and the other end to either a nearby cold water pipe or to a ground rod. If you don't have a ground, buy an 8ft. copper ground rod and pound it in the ground as close as you can to the mast as to make the copper ground wire as short as possible.

Good Luck.
 

jd970

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2006
Messages
35
Location
CO
hsdtech said:
A good sledge hammer works wonders on getting those rods down into the ground :)
Untill you hit a nice sized rock, as I've ran in to this when I was building a pit for a pig roast. I have a friend that has a boaring tool that will go down about 6 feet. I'll probably employ his help for this project.
 

sony

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
203
jd970 said:
I just ordered the ST Scanenna off of ebay. I found some good reviews (from this site) and they're able to get higher frequencies. Plus for under $60 shipped, I couldn't go wrong.

Now I want to get the peices in place to mount it on my roof. (The neighbors are going to like this.) I'm in Northern Colorado so I have to deal with wind and snow.

Any suggestions?

Thx.
Grove Enterprises sells them for 49.95 each.
 

sony

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
203
hsdtech said:
JD,

You could mount an antenna mast for the scantenna on your roof a couple of ways. If you have a chimney, R.S. sells chimney mounts for that very reason. They also sell Eve mounts to mount the mast to the eve of your house.
The most popular masts are 5ft. and 10ft. After mounting your mast to your roof just mount the scantenna onto the mast. Then route your coax to your radio.
Be sure to GROUND the antenna MAST pole. Use copper wire and attach one end to your mast and the other end to either a nearby cold water pipe or to a ground rod. If you don't have a ground, buy an 8ft. copper ground rod and pound it in the ground as close as you can to the mast as to make the copper ground wire as short as possible.

Good Luck.
Is it necessary to also use guy wire? What happens if you don't ground the antenna?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top