SDS200: Stream to Win10 and iOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

belvdr

Yada Yada
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,336
Apparently my search skills stink, as I cannot find an answer.

I'm looking to stream from one of my SDS200s to either Windows 10 or iOS on my network, not Internet. I know @ProScan serves a web page, but that has a significant delay to it. I also know I could run the ProScan client on the PC to stream it (almost instantaneiously?) to Win10, but that leaves my iOS devices on the web page only.

Is there something I'm missing in either ProScan or another package that will serve the purpose of streaming near real-time to Win10 and/or iOS? I'm trying to keep this to one package, if possible.
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
7,148
Location
Ontario, Calif.
If you're using ProScan Web Server feature, there's an option on the web page to delay the text tags & display so the audio and text tags & display will appear in sync. The audio delay is caused by the media player network buffer and not ProScan.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
6,959
Apparently my search skills stink, as I cannot find an answer.

I'm looking to stream from one of my SDS200s to either Windows 10 or iOS on my network, not Internet. I know @ProScan serves a web page, but that has a significant delay to it. I also know I could run the ProScan client on the PC to stream it (almost instantaneiously?) to Win10, but that leaves my iOS devices on the web page only.

Is there something I'm missing in either ProScan or another package that will serve the purpose of streaming near real-time to Win10 and/or iOS? I'm trying to keep this to one package, if possible.


Are you using the latest (16.1) version of Proscan? I'm using the Proscan web server to Safari web browser on my iOS and the delay is just under 6 seconds for both inhouse network and internet use. In my experience, that's down from around 25 seconds with earlier versions of Proscan.

.
 

belvdr

Yada Yada
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,336
So there's no possibility of near real-time streaming on both platforms?
 

belvdr

Yada Yada
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,336
Are you using the latest (16.1) version of Proscan? I'm using the Proscan web server to Safari web browser on my iOS and the delay is just under 6 seconds for both inhouse network and internet use. In my experience, that's down from around 25 seconds with earlier versions of Proscan.
That may work then. I haven't installed any software yet, just gathering data at this point to figure out what I need.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
6,959
That may work then. I haven't installed any software yet, just gathering data at this point to figure out what I need.

There is a 30 day fully functional trial period with Proscan, so definitely give it a try. I think you'll be pleased with the results.

Just determine what your audio delay is, and as Bob mentioned you can sync the display data with the audio using a drop down box right on the browser page.
 

fxdscon

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
6,959
@ProScan and @fxdscon Thanks for the quick replies. I'll work on this today!

If you need any help with setup, check this guide... it's written for the BCD536HP, but just use the menu in the SDS200 to setup the IP address on your scanner instead of the dongle with the 536. The rest of the setup is the same for both scanners. I would definitely use a static IP address for the scanner rather than DHCP.


.
 

belvdr

Yada Yada
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,336
If you're using ProScan Web Server feature, there's an option on the web page to delay the text tags & display so the audio and text tags & display will appear in sync. The audio delay is caused by the media player network buffer and not ProScan.
Any way to set the default delay?

It would also be nice to have a date format of yyyy/mm/dd, as those names can be sorted alphabetically at the same time being sorted in the correct timeline.
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
10,871
Location
Retired 40 Year Firefighter NW Tenn
I played with it just briefly as my scanner pc is running 16 copies of PROSCAN and I found it easier to use ANYDESK as TEAMVIEWER no longer meets my needs and I can operate any of the 16 scanners and listen 1 or all 16 remotely without delay.
 

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Joined
Jul 18, 2014
Messages
13,416
Location
VA
Any way to set the default delay?

It would also be nice to have a date format of yyyy/mm/dd, as those names can be sorted alphabetically at the same time being sorted in the correct timeline.
ProScan allows you to customize the format of the audio filename and folder name, so yes, you can do that.
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
7,148
Location
Ontario, Calif.
It would also be nice to have a date format of yyyy/mm/dd, as those names can be sorted alphabetically at the same time being sorted in the correct timeline.
The Start Date/Time & End Date/Time columns when sorted are sorted by date & time . An alphabetically sort is different then a date sort and will not sort the same. To sort, click the column header to toggle between ascending and descending.
 

belvdr

Yada Yada
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
2,336
The Start Date/Time & End Date/Time columns when sorted are sorted by date & time . An alphabetically sort is different then a date sort and will not sort the same. To sort, click the column header to toggle between ascending and descending.
This is the logging tab and it can sort the same, alphabetically and chronologically, if you use YYYY/MMDD. I do this all the time with other data.
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
7,148
Location
Ontario, Calif.
This is the logging tab and it can sort the same, alphabetically and chronologically, if you use YYYY/MMDD. I do this all the time with other data.

Did you try to sort the End Date / Time column? If you're hinting of a suggestion, emails always gets a higher priority then web based because I can send out files to make sure the suggestion is done right. Plus all the suggestions are in one place.
 
Last edited:

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
7,148
Location
Ontario, Calif.
Are you requesting an option to change the logging date format to YYYY/MMDD so the grid will sort in chronological order?
Try it the way it is now. The grid will sort in chronological order so no need to change the date format.
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Staff member
Lead Database Admin
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
6,869
Location
Ohio
No iOS app yet? Bummer.

However, the 16.1 version definitely helps; I was looking at ~25 second delays before, now it's down to about 5 sec.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top