ProScan Streaming - USB & Serial Ports

I'm a rookie so please be gentle. I just picked up a Dell Optiplex with a 2 TB SSD drive and a 4TB hard drive. It has 32GB of RAM. Way more than I need for streaming. But I need two things out of it. I was hoping I could use plug-in USB sound cards for the audio. But I also want remote control. One of them is a Uniden 996P2 and the second one is a Uniden BCT 15x. I am told that the 996 serial port is reversed. I guess that means I need to use a crossover serial cable? I can plug it into the one serial port on this computer. But then there's the 15x. I don't know if it's a straight serial port or if I'm going to need a crossover cable. Either way I'm going to have to add a low rise rs232 card to the computer. But I actually have four scanners that I'm going to be streaming and I want to plan ahead. I have enough USB ports to use the USB sound cards.

But what do I need to add to this that will give me remote control of what will amount to two 996P2s and two BCT15Xs? This unit has four USB 3.1 ports on it. What kind of interface do I need in between the radios so they all talk over USB for remote control? May I ask that you use "Streaming for Radio Dummies" words in reply? 😂

TY

KevinC

The big K
Super Moderator
You could always use serial-to-BT adapters instead of hardwiring, I have 4 scanners connected that way. You'd still need to get audio to the computer...for that I use a mini-mixer and a BT transmitter, but the soundcards may be simpler for you. And yes, you will need null-modem cables or adapters for both the 996 and 15X.

I've never had a device that had more than one Bluetooth Channel. Bear in mind that this is an old optiplex. It only has one Hardware serial port. Wouldn't I still need to install a Serial 4-port card? Cables are cheaper than serial-BT. Why it has so much hard drive space, I don't know. 32 GB with Windows 10 Pro is great though. Less swapping. This computer is going to be just for the scanners.