Suggestions for new radio - LAPD area

Status
Not open for further replies.

ml325

I am looking for a radio in the $200 range that can pick up LAPD, any suggestions?

ladn

Explorer of the Frequency Spectrum
Premium Subscriber
Southern California and sometimes Owens Valley
LAPD is P-25 digital. You might find a used BD-250D or similar older model radio for that price.
A new radio such as the BCD 325P2 will be just under $400. You might luck out and find a refurbished radio from Amazon or Bearcat Wharehouse for about $300.

prcguy

A Radio Shack PRO-96 still works great for LAPD and they run about $150 used.

LAPD is P-25 digital. You might find a used BD-250D or similar older model radio for that price.
A new radio such as the BCD 325P2 will be just under $400. You might luck out and find a refurbished radio from Amazon or Bearcat Wharehouse for about $300.

ml325

Sorry, I'm new to all this. Will a radio that is APCO P25 work? Does it matter about phase I or ii?

Engine104

Member since 2005
No worries.. LAPD is digital, but it is APCO 25, which isn't the same as P25 Phase 1 or Phase 2. My Pro96 will do Apco 25 and P25 Phase 1, but not Phase 2. If you're in L.A and want to invest in the future, I'd get a Phase 2 scanner. The new LA-RICS system, (LASD, LACoFD, etc) will be that. LAFD is analog, so no problem there.

tsalmrsystemtech

Premium Subscriber
Well for 200.00 bucks this pretty much gets you an analog scanner radio now. You might just want to keep saving some money or wait for another stimulus check to get released soon and then buy either a SDS-100 if you want a portable radio or the SDS-200 for a base station radio. This will give you so many more options than just listening to LAPD around the LA basin area. You will get all of the bands either in Analog or P25 digital and will give you the options for trunking too. This investment will give you all the growth you need moving forward.